The Simply Impossible 5-Petal Flower

It feels like some kind of Zen riddle, but nope- it’s just a dang flower. We spent 6 hours on this in nail school, and could probably spend another 60 and not get a perfect flower!

Image

These are my first 4 attempts at a couple different kinds of shaped flowers. They look very simple, but the difficult part is making sure each petal mirrors those surrounding it and that every center is 72 degrees away from the one closest to it.

The point of painting these wasn’t that it’s a popular design, it’s to really look at proportion and mentally sketching a design while doing it, rather than just plopping down color randomly and hoping for the best. 😉

We’ll see how it goes from here, but it’s been more challenging then I expected! Practice makes perfect, I hope.

Speaking of practice….any lovely ladies (or men too, I suppose!) in Singapore want to be my practice manicure/pedicure victims volunteers? I’m looking for models to practice on in Tanjong Pagar. Mostly I’m free during the week on Tuesday/Thursday, but Saturdays may be an option as well. It’s free of charge, of course, and should take around 2 hours. If you can only spare an hour, that’s fine too! Let me know in the comments or email at nevertoomuchglitter at gmail.com.

 

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Simply Impossible 5-Petal Flower

  1. lacqueredpaintedpolished says:

    Wow, those look pretty perfect to me! I say it over and over, but you are so talented! I bet you are the best one in your class! And you can’t tell me otherwise because I won’t believe it.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Aw, thank you! I have much more painting experience than the other students, so it’s only natural I have an unfair advantage. Heh heh, now I don’t feel so bad about being the oldest one in the class!

  2. August says:

    Did you spend 6 hours all at one time? If so, you have stamina! Those look perfect.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      We did 3 hours, then a quick lunch break, then another 2.5. I definitely had a stiff shoulder the next day!

  3. Rabbit says:

    I know that it is not so easy to make perfect flowers. Yours are beautiful, proportional. 🙂

Leave a Reply

