Purple Rose Fantasy Nails

Whew! I’m beginning to learn gel extensions, and getting these things right is half art, half science. After we learn extensions, then we get to start nail art! Woo hoo! But first things first.

Some of my painting takes several hours to complete and a client probably wouldn’t be able to sit for that long, unless they were really insanely dedicated to nail art! I’m on the fence about working in a salon after my training is done- it really depends on the type of salon. If I could paint crazy nails all day, that’d be ideal. But doing endless French tips would probably drive me crazy. Don’t get me wrong, French tips are lovely if done well, but I couldn’t do them all day. I need color in my life. 😉

But one of my goals is to paint faster and more efficiently, and to work on matching nails and fashion, since I could definitely see myself doing nails for fashion shows and shoots.

Here’s my first attempt at making a nail for a specific outfit:

Here’s the nails:

The base of the nails is much darker than the dress, but if this was my look, I’d accessorize with very deep purples to add a kind of twilight effect, since the dress is several shades of purple.  And purple shoes! The roses do match the dress bodice, but the base is a darker shade.  The swirls and rhinestones are just because all nails are improved with a little jazzing up (at least in my world!)

The roses were premade, but I managed to do this entire look in 25 minutes on 10 nails, painting like a banshee. It’s kind of a fun challenge to push myself to go a little faster instead of nitpicking over every detail. I’ll never win any speed contests, but it’s a new area for me to improve in.

Anyone have any fun experience matching nails/clothes? Did you go with a similar color, theme, or era for inspiration?

 

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Purple Rose Fantasy Nails

  1. kayleighmk says:

    This is so pretty, I love it! The roses look gorgeous and the whole set looks like it would pair so nicely with that dress!

  2. butterdaisy says:

    Very very pretty! I’m right with you on that french manicure thing. Nice but boring. It’s nice when things match/compliment but aren’t matchy matchy, so your mani is perfect.

  3. LifeOfBun says:

    That’s so gorgeous!!

  4. Danielle says:

    Hi there! I saw your stuff on pintrest and was browsing your posts. Love the eyeshadow stuff by the way!! I have a totally random question. I have trouble keeping polish on my nails if it’s not professionally done. What can I do to fix this?? I’ve tried putting a base clear coat both over and under but it still chips in a matter of hours when I do it myself. Help!! Lol

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Danielle! Thanks for stopping by. 🙂
      If the polish stays on your nails when it’s applied in a salon but not when you polish them, it’s probably due to to oil/handcream on your nails. Make sure to clean your nails with acetone or polish remover- scrub well and clean the whole surface. Apply the base coat, make sure it’s really dry, then go ahead and polish, but make sure the coats are thin and even. Clean off any nail polish that’s gotten on the skin with a toothpick soaked in nail polish remover. Then finish it off with topcoat- I really like Seche Vite but you have to be gentle when applying- more like patting it on rather than really grinding the bristles into the brush.

      And, since this is more answer than you probably bargained for, some polishes just lift fast on certain nails. No rhyme or reason most of the time, but basecoats I’ve had great luck with don’t work on others. Trial and error, or ask your salon what they use if you find it works on you! 😉

  5. Marina says:

    These nails are beautiful, once again you’ve made a masterpiece!!:))
    I have a practical question: how do you attach premade elements such as rhinestones or roses? Do you use a bit of nail glue? You can’t rely on sticking them to wet nail polish, right?
    Good luck in your school, your work is marvelous!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks very much- I’m glad you liked it! You can use wet topcoat to stick on very small items like confetti or rhinestones, but nail glue is better for larger stones. For the really big items, a blob of wet acrylic works wonders. Some people do have good luck setting with UV gel, but I find it’s so often so thick that it takes the facets off of stones and kind of blurs them together.

  6. Pingback: lavender wedding dress | Wedding Dressess

Leave a Reply

