Basic Gray

Gray is a really easy color to mix yourself- just black and white! One tip: Add the black drop by drop to the white- don’t try to add white to black or you’ll find you waste a lot of polish! I poured a bit of white polish into my silicone baking cup, then added black bit by bit.

This is 15 parts white and one part black. Both the black and white polish I used are dollar store ones, so you can get a good result with even cheap polish.

Image

You can see this gray leans toward the cool side- that means it contains blue in the base. All black polishes are not created equal- some have a red or purple undertone, but you’ll never know until you add white to it.  Fascinating, I know, but I’m a bit of a color nerd, so it is interesting to me, at least. 😉

I really like the color combination of a darker gray and silver. It’s fresh and modern, but not too edgy for every day wear. Here’s some super-quick random silver dots (China Glaze Sci-Fi) over the gray base.Image

If anyone’s interested, I could do a dotting tool tutorial. You can make dots, hearts, flowers, etc. with an inexpensive tool, even if you consider yourself to be painting-challenged. Any takers?

Nail school is going well- we’ve covered basic hygiene, anatomy and filing various shapes. We’ll be going onto basic art in the next couple weeks, so that’ll be very interesting. While I can paint pretty well, I am also one of the slower ones in the class since I’m a terrible perfectionist. Yes, I know you can just wipe polish off the cuticle after painting if need be, but it feels like cheating.

Um, also: just a public service announcement: If your nails are GREEN without any polish on, see a doctor pronto. We were asked what we should do if we saw a client with green nails. I wanted to say, “Prepare for a zombie attack and load the shotgun!” but that’s just my weird sense of humor. Some folks did think it was a good idea to cover it with polish, but that’s incorrect. If your nails are green, see a doctor. Please.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Basic Gray

  1. August says:

    I couldn’t help but giggle at what you said. I would never hear people say that they’re learning about nail filing every day, and you sound very serious about it. It sounds like it’s one of the coolest classes ever! I can’t wait to see what the nails will look like.

    In school I take an apparel class, but we’re out for the summer. Anyway, we spent one entire class on zippers. I am just laughing thinking about it. But I am dedicated to fashion probably just as much as you are to nails. I hope to get into design school to get a degree and maybe become a costume designer. Out-of-the-ordinary classes are awesome, aren’t they?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Professional classes are tons of fun- lots of stuff you never even considered, like zippers and filing! But without those details, everything falls apart (literally!)

      I took a whole class in Japan on how to do gel flowers. That was *all* we did for 18 classroom hours.

      Costume designing sounds like tons of fun! I’d like to get into fantasy nails for movies and fashion shoots as well.

  2. Shayla says:

    Would definitely love a dotting tool tutorial! I currently can’t do anything with mine besides basic dots – the more options, the merrier!

    Also, what does it mean if your nails are green? You have me wondering now!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      All righty then, a dotting tutorial it is! 😀 If you can do dots, you can do a lot of other shapes with just a little twist.

      Green nails = a major fungal infection. Yellow nails can be a result of staining from dark polish, but if they are actually *green,* professional medical help is necessary. (And this is coming from a kind of person who will wait till I cough up a lung before I actually go to the doctor.)

Leave a Reply

