Starry Night Part 2

Essie (before they were purchased by L’Oreal) had a very popular polish several years ago called Starry Night. It was a basic deep blue with silver microglitter- not that hard to duplicate with a quick layer of silver polish over a navy blue, but still a pretty polish and something a little different from their (streaky pink) usual offerings at the time.

I did a franken of it quite a while back, but I’ve revisited it with some new material. I had an almost-gone bottle of Nfu-Oh 270, a medium dark blue jelly, and some lovely silver champagne glitter. It’s not a pure metallic silver, but a warmish soft silver with slightly irregular particles. I got this glitter from Dollar Nail Art in an assorted package, and I’ve had very good luck with it. It doesn’t change color when it hits the nail polish like some glitters do.

Image

So, here we have 2/3 Nfu Oh 270, 1/3 clear polish, and a sprinkling of warm silver glitter. The glitter changed the color of the blue, which surprised me. Just a little tweak- it warmed it up slightly.

Image

In a totally juvenile side note, please forgive my fondling the Nfu Oh bottle. I feel a bit perverted. Nfu Oh probably has the fanciest bottles I’ve ever seen- can anyone top this? Anyway, the results are a nice color that’s not so dark it looks black in most lights. That’s my biggest peeve with darker blues- many of them look black in all but the brightest light. I’m tempted to add some stars, but I have a date to do some laps in the pool later and I don’t want to be known as the person who clogged the filters with excessive rhinestones.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Mixed Colors (Frankens), Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

