Settling In

Well, I’m mostly moved in, though the bulk of my furniture has yet to be delivered,  one of the toilets has a mysterious leak, and I’m still painting at my dining room table. Luckily, there is a gorgeous pool here with lovely tropical landscaping here, which has relieved some of my crabbiness at the slow furniture delivery and plumbing goblins.

At least my Internet got installed without a hitch!

Here’s the future nail cave/glitter storage/hobby room:

It’s a bit bigger than a large closet, but I’d like to think of it as “cozy.” The somewhat sad thing is, this is the maid’s room. Maids actually live in these. When the real estate agent told me that was the purpose, I felt really depressed. It’s separated from the living space, behind the kitchen and laundry room. It does have its own bathroom at least.  I can fit myself, a desk, and some storage shelves. If it’s photo-worthy when I’m done, then I’ll post After pictures to go with the Before shot.

I’ve never worked in a space quite this small, but after living in Japan for as long as I did, I’m pretty sure I don’t have claustrophobia. I guess I’ll find out!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Settling In

  1. peanuts says:

    hi there, im a singaporean, and i have seen people put their maids in places smaller than that. i understand your depression but my country’s supply of land is realllyyyyy limited. take care and email me if you need any help settling in, i will try my best!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, I do understand about the small land area! The entire live-in maid thing is just a big cultural difference for me. Thanks for your offer of help- I really appreciate it!

  2. Signyspade says:

    Hey there, glad to hear you’ve finally got a place now and getting settled. I was beginning to worry bout ya’ll living in the “whore-hotel” sounded awful. I’ve got a question, I’m a new nail artist, haven’t gone to school yet, and I’m running out of family & friends to paint. I’ve looked and looked on the net for the full coverage nails you paint on, the ones held on with that “stick thing”..can you please give me the web address for where you purchase yours?? I’m so tired of hunting :o/. Thx in advance :o)

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I am soo glad to be out of the ho-tel too!
      The base nails I use are from a specialty manufacturer in Japan, but some other companies are starting to make nails in a similar design but possibly in a larger size to suit non-Japanese audiences. I haven’t used this company, but some folks have told me about it and they seems happy with it. http://www.kkcenterhk.com/Finger-False-Nails/c46/index.html?page=2

      Good luck and have fun!

      • Signyspade says:

        Thx so much!! Found exactly what I’ve been looking for!! You have no idea what this means to me :o)

  3. Cheryl says:

    Argh that’s rubbish for a maid’s room. Mine shares my room with me, our “maid’s room” is our store room.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, I thought it was a store room too! That’s the feeling I got when I saw it. When I first arrived, I saw a maid being treated rather unkindly by her boss and it’s stuck with me. Nothing physical of course, but they employer was screaming at the maid for being slow, but the maid was a tiny woman carrying a lot of heavy-looking bags. I’m sure this is not the usual case, but it just made me feel bad. I’m glad to hear there are nice employers like you. 😀

Leave a Reply

