Holding Pattern

I’ve spent my first week in Singapore so far. Mostly I’ve been eating and I’m always tempted by dessert! Luckily, the local desserts seem to consist of fruit, ice, condensed milk and mysterious things I can only call “bloobalas.” They are some kind of gelatin and come in various shapes and colors. Not really any taste, but they provide some lurid color.

We’re in a holding pattern, waiting for paperwork (visa/residence permit) to come through. Without these things, we can’t get an apartment, mobile phone, register for any courses, etc. So for now we’re just kind of hanging out, waiting. It sounds like it should be fun, but it’s actually kind of crummy. Living out of a suitcase kind of gets to you after a while. I think I’ll feel better I get into my own space (and can wash my clothes, which are getting pretty scary by now).

Some exciting things are afoot: I recently snatched back the domain name nevertoomuchglitter.com from a registration service when it expired. These bulk registration services register hundreds of random domain names, and then sell them back at inflated prices. They were asking $2000 for the nevertoomuchglitter domain. I took nevertoomuchglitternailart instead for $7 per year. But now I’ve got the one I really wanted back!

After I’m settled in, I’m hoping to team up with some local programmers to design and launch a website. I’m still working out the contents and what I want it to look like at this stage, but some ideas are: franken polish recipes, a Japanese nail polish swatch library, a catalogue of nail art ideas divided by themes, and some simpler nail art tutorials. I also want to feature some vegan and cruelty-free cosmetics of all types. Β Just some ideas for now- it’s in the very early stages but we’ll see where it goes! The hardest part for me is the technical aspect, since I have no real handle on what’s possible and what’s not possible.

I’ll also be going to nail school and I really want to take a course or two with Catherine Wong, who is a fantastic Singaporean nail artist. She’s really busy, but if she does a local class I hope to be there!

So I’m just in “wait and see” mode. Anyone who knows me knows that sitting around waiting is not something I’m good at, but at least there’s a ton of cheap and tasty food!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Holding Pattern

  1. Lucy says:

    Hope you get everything settled soon. That would drive me crazy to wait. Plus dirty clothes, ick! Would be great to get some courses from Catherine Wong. Really pray that works out for you. Great that you got your domain name back. Are you still making your nails for your store? Is the nail art different in Singapore then Japan? Will certainly be an interesting experience.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, the waiting is also driving me up the wall! I can’t get anything done and I’m trying to enjoy myself in the meantime but I really need my own space. I do admit I have been painting nails (carefully!) in my hotel room. I had a couple ideas that were too good to wait, I so got out my goodies and made a few sets. Makes me feel more like myself.
      The nail art here is heavily influenced by Japan, but not quite as crazy. Pedicures are huge here since everyone’s in sandals all the time.

  2. emmajoy says:

    Hi! I live in Singapore. Let me know if you need any information on where to go, what to do, where to find stuff (e.g. nail polish, haha) and I’ll be happy to share my sources with you. Welcome to the hot, muggy land of perpetual summer!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi there! Ooh, I’m always looking for insider tips! I’m actually headed back to the US to take care of some business, but I’d love to meet up after I get back. I’d be happy to trade ya a manicure or dinner for a nail-polish tour!

  3. Rachel says:

    Your plans sound awesome πŸ™‚ I am a Singaporean girl who’s a complete polish freak/visual arts lover and I really like your nail art works, especially the sets of nails that are inspired by paintings (started following your blog cos i fell in love with your rendition of The Persistence of Memory) Glad you’re in Singapore and hope you enjoy the food, fun and shopping here πŸ™‚

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Oh, I’m glad you liked the Persistence of Memory. A lot of folks don’t really recognize the painting. I’m an art geek, though, so I shouldn’t assume everyone else is. I am loving Singapore, except those random crazy afternoon downpours. Once I settle in, I’ll be sure to be doing some more visual arts inspired stuff, so do stay tuned. πŸ™‚

  4. Jin says:

    I certainly hope you’ll settle down very soon. I grew up in Singapore but I’m living in Australia now. Glad that you are enjoying the food there! I really miss all those yummy food in Singapore. I’m so envious you’re taking classes with Catherine Wong. She’s so talented and creative! Hope to see the launch of your new website soon.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Don’t worry, I’ll eat your share of food too! I’ve eaten more since I’ve arrived here than I’d like to admit, but it’s all just too delish. I better find a gym next! I’m hoping to get into a course with Ms. Wong but for now, she seems to be overseas training other artists. I hope she comes home and has some time to train in Singapore.

  5. g_teng says:

    Woohoo! Im learning from Catherine Wong now too! Her works are awesome!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Oh, I’m jealous! I’m going to look into her classes more when my visa for Singapore is settled. I can’t wait! πŸ™‚

  6. Cheryl says:

    Hope you’re adapting well to Singapore! If you need to get nail supplies just let me know, there’s a great cheap place in Chinatown that I go to really often. I can take you on a food tour too, we love eating here!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yay! I’m in the US for a couple weeks taking care of some business but I’d love to meet up when I’m back in Singapore at the end of the month. I’ll be happy to trade a mani or a tasty meal for an insider tour. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

