A Fresh Start And Some Reflections

Phew! The big move is done and I’m out of Japan. It was tough, physically and emotionally. I had much more stuff than I’d imagined and had adopted more of a Japanese outlook than I’d realized! I’m still expecting to see vending machines around every corner and surprised when people shake hands instead of bow! I was in Japan on and off for the majority of the last 10 years, but I didn’t realize how much it had seeped in to my everyday conciousness.

Not to wax on and on about Japan, but the traditional “”new year” there begins on April 1. That’s when the new school year begins, new jobs start, and spring is in the air. It’s a time for fresh starts and new beginnings.

2012 so far has been a blur of moving and preparations and changes of plan and general craziness, so I’m looking forward to a fresh new start.

I’m in Singapore at the moment, and I’ve decided to go to nail school full-time and really push myself artistically. Long before I was a nail junkie, I was drawing, painting and printmaking, so I may try to get back into some fine art too. I’m here since Mr. NTMG is working here for a few months, so I figure I’ll make the most of it!  I did some nail art classes (acrylic and gel) in Japan, but now I’m going for the full diploma-granting course.

Singapore is definitely a change! I’ve been here before but living here will be a different story.  It is hotter than heck and seasonless- it’s always summer here, but it’s that sticky Asian summer. The national hobbies seem to be eating (yum-food to die for!) and shopping (meh, not really my thing).

It’s defintitely refreshing to be in a multi-cultural country. I went to the Indian district, and there are gorgeous textiles and mind-boggling jewelry which are definitely going to inspire some manicures.  Chinese and Indian art seem to include a lot of vivid color, gold  and sparkles, so I’m feeling right at home.

Things are still a bit up in the air- I’m living out of a (very sparkly) suitcase and using Wi-Fi when I can find it.  I am definitely looking forward to being a bit more settled and having my own space. And I’m treating myself to one of those rolling manicure carts to pack my nail stuff in, because packing nail polish in a suitcase with clothes is living dangerously. I had an explosion of China Glaze Grape Pop, but luckily it missed my clothes. Phew.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A Fresh Start And Some Reflections

  1. TengYee says:

    welcome to Singapore!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you very much! 🙂 I’m going to gain a lot of weight here from the delicious food but so far I’m really enjoying it!

  2. Looking forward to reading about your new adventures in Singapore (as always)!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks a lot- it’s another adventure for sure. I think after this one I’ll be ready to hang up my travelling shoes, but I’ll keep on reporting on the glitter no matter where I am!

  3. I envy you and can’t wait to read about your new adventures! I’ve been thinking of going to nail school here in the US but honestly I think it doesn’t even come close to what your going to learn. 😦 But I wish you lots of luck!! 😀

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Give it a try- you might surprise yourself artistically! I do think the nail schools in Asia are better but you can always practice the crazy stuff after you get the basics down. And thanks for the good luck wishes!

  4. Cheryl says:

    Ooh awesome! Let me know if you ever want a nail polish shopping buddy!

    • Cheryl says:

      Oh or any tips on living here or getting certain stuff!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Sure, I’m always looking to meet people especially fellow polish fanatics! I just literally arrived a couple days ago but I think I’ve already eaten my way around the island. 😀

  5. Lucy says:

    How long will you be living in Singapore? Your life sounds like it’s very exciting. Ten years is a long time to live in a country. I should imagine you would miss it very much. Nail school will be fun. With your talent you’ll really do well. Can’t wait to hear about all your adventures. Enjoy your time there. I would hate the heat there. Hope you have air conditioning.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I think it’ll be about a year or so, depending on the job situation. My life isn’t really exciting- though it’s pretty exotic at times. I do the same thing (paint nails!) in all different locations. I do miss Japan a lot and it will always be a part of me, but at the same time, it’s refreshing to try something new. The air conditioning is sub-artic here- it is COLD. Outdoors is pretty muggy but the shopping malls practically cause icicles to form. I don’t mind the heat but it takes a bit of getting used to.

  6. Jenrine says:

    Which nail school are you at? I hope you will settle down soon in Singapore! This is a really hot and humid country, eat more and drink more! Heh

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I haven’t decided on the school yet but have a couple strong possibilites. I was really surprised to find a nailist license is not required in Singapore. Oh, and I am eating and drinking plenty! I am going to be shaped like a beachball by the time I leave here. But I’ll be a happy beachball. 😀

Leave a Reply

