I’m A Water-Marblin’ Fool!

Well, some people would just say I’m a plain old fool, but…ahem. That’s beside the point. Now that I’ve finally got the hang of water marbling, I think I’m going to do it to every nail in my house. OK, well, I can’t go quite that far, but I’ve been playing with a lot of color combos and different polishes and having a blast. I’m still working on getting a more even texture. I seem to be getting some bubbles from where the water beads on the surface of the nail. For now, I’m covering it with glitter (what else?!) but I’d like to be able to get a totally smooth surface every time.

Here’s the latest, my attempt at a rainbow marble:

I found some bald spots (water beading up on the surface?) so I gave it a bit of glitter topcoat, China Glaze Shooting Star.

But as you guys know, I can never leave anything alone….

I added a smattering of Deborah Lippmann’s Happy Birthday (rainbow glitterbomb) and some different sized rhinestones. The finished product reminds me of those colorful rubber bouncy balls that used to be in those 25¢ capsule vending machines. They were incredibly slippery and smelled both horrifying and alluring at the same time- I hope at least some of you know what I’m talking about, right? I don’t even know if they exist anymore since they’re probably some kind of choking hazard, or someone accidentally put out an eyeball or something like that. But I enjoyed bouncing them all over the place back in the day, when we could hurl them at passing dinosaurs. 😉

 

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I’m A Water-Marblin’ Fool!

  1. Rebecca says:

    Ahaha, I totally know what you’re referring to! I had one of those balls when I was little. Great job with the marbling!! I tried it once, but got lazy and just did my index finger on each hand 😛

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      LOL at the index finger! I don’t blame you, the marbling is a lot of work. I’m trying to figure out a way to do a bunch at a time, but no luck yet.

  2. laura says:

    This is beautiful! It’s better than those bouncy balls that I always lost the same day. These are glowy and amazing!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Laura, I’m so glad you liked them. And yes, those balls always seemed to escape almost immediately!

  3. says:

    They’re all gorgeous!!

  4. Lucy says:

    Love the nails! They’re wild. Beautiful job doing them up with all the glitters & rhinestones. The nails sure do look like those balls. I never put one in my mouth so no choking here!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Lucy! I’m glad you liked them. I don’t recall trying to eat them either but some kids will nosh on anything!

  5. Kiki says:

    Can we have a marbling tutorial? pretty pleaseeee
    They look fabulous, very talented.

Leave a Reply

