I’m Hawaii-Bound

I’m wading through my stash, trying to swatch, give away, and pack up what I can.

In good news, I’m heading to Hawaii for some much-needed rest and relaxation. I went to school out there and have loved it ever since, and it’s only a 6 hour flight from Japan. Woo hoo! (And I can mail polish home DOMESTICALLY!) I’m not going to Hawaii just so I can ship my stash home, but it’s a definite bonus. I’m embarrassed to say I can’t fit my stash even in two large suitcases, but I can pack a couple shoeboxes worth of my very favorites.

I know “needing a vacation” makes me sound kind of spoiled, but dang, I really do.  I’m definitely aware it’s a luxury, but I need to get out of Tokyo and away from the cares of the world, at least for a bit.

Oh, and here’s a PSA about a company that done me wrong: Samsonite! I had a nice hard-shell (duochome purple!) American Tourister (made by Samosonite) suitcase that I bought here in Japan. Finally! I had splurged on a good solid suitcase…and after literally 2 trips, one of the wheels got damaged so it didn’t roll anymore. I’m sure it was due to the horrible handling at the airport, but after a 14 hour flight, I was too tired to make a claim. Plus I’ve tried before (that Narita to JFK route is hard on luggage!) and the airline either gives you the runaround so bad it’s not worth the time to try and get compensated, OR they flat-out refuse to cover any damage. I do understand their position, but in this case one of the wheels got ripped off because of their handling. I have no idea how only one wheel out of four got damaged.

So, knowing that the airline claims process is pretty useless, I got Samsonite to take a look at it. After all, they have a warranty, right? Nope. If your suitcase has ever been in an airport, they will basically refuse your claim, citing “airline” damage. That’s not covered.  I ran around in circles, saying that maybe the wheel was weak and that’s why only one got damaged. Nope. Since it had been through an airport, they refused any responsibility. AND they won’t fix it AT ALL because they don’t have the parts. So I get to pay to have it shipped back to me broken, or I can pay them to dispose of it. Boo Samsonite! I think it was a couple hundred dollars for the suitcase, so each trip cost me $100.

Moral of the story:  Buy el-cheapo luggage sets, like the ones at Target. They get beat up terribly, but will last several trans-Pacific trips and when they get utterly destroyed, you don’t have to feel bad. And if you have Samsonite luggage that you need fixed, NEVER tell them that it’s been to an airport or they won’t honor their “warranty.” Isn’t that like selling a car with a warranty that’s only valid if you never turn the ignition?

All right, enough complaining from me. Here’s something that always cheers me up! Halloween nail art (not mine except for the last one, I’m knee-deep in swatching my stash!)

Look at that cute vampire pumpkin! Image from Nail Nail.

Impossibly adorable, lots of 3-D acrylic going on here. Image from 12 Nails.

Wow, I think I’d break off those pumpkins in the first day or two but these would be great to hand out tricks or treats with!  Image from Nail Salon Love and School, Kawagoe.

Probably the most wearable of the bunch! I love the plaid detailing on the bows. ES Nail Shinjyuku.

I made these and they’re appearing in Gothic Beauty Magazine (I think, either this or another set I sent photos of will be in the next issue). I was going for a dark Lolita kind of look.

All righty, back on the swatching chain gang. You guys have NO idea how tired I am of packing. But since I don’t have any polish fairies to help out, it’s all on me to get this packed.

 

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Japanese Nail Art, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I’m Hawaii-Bound

  1. Lucy says:

    You really do deserve a vacation. Everything you’ve been through, you need to have some rest & relaxation. I’m glad that you can ship from Hawaii. Have a wonderful time. Those nails are amazing to look at as art. Something I would never be able to wear. I love your Gothic nails. Your amazing. I would never expect the airlines to pay for your luggage. Samsonite, shame on you.

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks Lucy! I make those nails and I can’t wear them either! Maybe for a party but I’m afraid I’ll impale an eyeball on one or something.

    The luggage is a bummer, but that’s the way it goes sometimes. I wonder what people do with those expensive Louis Vuitton suitcases? Maybe they buy a spare seat just for their luggage. I’m ticked off at a wrecked $200 suitcase, I’d be really mad if it had been a $1500 suitcase. Though I’d never own one, even if I was rich. It’s the first bag anyone would steal!

  3. Kamsamnida says:

    Love those designs..

  4. Gorgeous 3d nail art for Halloween!!! Thanks for posting it!

  5. angelmcc says:

    I love the plaid! Where did you find the print? I never knew anyone could love nail art as much as me, then I found this blog!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks so much for stopping by- I’m always glad to meet fellow nail art fans!
      That plaid is handpainted with a semi-sheer polish. It’s from a salon called ES Nail in an area of Tokyo called Shinjuku.

Leave a Reply

