Edgar Allan Poe Nail Art + Kawaiibomb

Nope, thankfully not in the same set of nails! But I made these two sets within 24 hours of each other, which makes me wonder if I’m going a little bit crazy:

A very Japan-inspired kawaii set, with lace and pearls and hearts and then…..

Well, it was a dark day and fall is rolling in, so I got to thinking of Edgar Allan Poe. There’s a raven, portrait of Poe, “Nevermore”, a brick wall, Lenore’s gravestone complete with 3-D stone rose, the Telltale heart, the catacombs, chains and skulls from the Cask of Amontillado, and finally, a rose like the one a mysterious admirer left on Poe’s grave on his birthday for many years.

So I guess this firmly puts me in the Goth Lolita camp. Either that or I have some kind of dangerously split personality. Or both.

I also made up this autumn leaf set, inspired by Japanese kimonos, which is neither goth nor kawaii, so there’s still a relatively normal part of me left. (If there ever was one to begin with!)

In addition to doing some art over the weekend, I also made up several of the ugliest frankens known to man, including one that looks like radioactive dog poo. There are pretty colors, and colors that are so ugly they become appealing, and then there are just plain uglies. That’s what I’ve been consistently making. I’ve been in search of some fresh fall shades that I haven’t seen a million times…and the colors I’m making are so awful I haven’t actually seen them anywhere else, so at least I’m doing one thing right. But I’m afraid someone will see my nails and think I’m some sort of public health risk. Oh well, back to the franken board.

 

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Edgar Allan Poe Nail Art + Kawaiibomb

  1. You are an amazing artist. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Jรป says:

    They’re all perfect!!
    So cool!!

  3. Deniz says:

    kawaii… poe! too much! brain short circuit!!
    haha these are awesome =D

  4. Tera says:

    I love them all, amazing work on the Poe set. Hey, multiple personalities just make you that more fun I say!

  5. Michelle says:

    They’re all really cool, the Poe set is incredible. I think the leaf set is my favorite, the leaf dangles really make them unique. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Libby says:

    The Edgar Allan Poe one is awesome!! I wished I could do nail art like yours on my nails! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Lucy says:

    Love the Poe nails! I’ve read all the stories. You’ve done a magnificent job! The kimona inspired nails are also amazing & beautiful. Love those kawaii nails. So girly. Love to see your radioactive poo!

  8. August says:

    I love the first set! That’s so me. The second one is not my style, but it still looks cool. The third one is pretty! I love fall.

  9. D... says:

    I love all of them, they’re cool. I think we’ll just have to call it cool.

  10. laura says:

    I love these all!! Well, the kawaii set is a little scary. Those are photo-shoot only, right? Everything else is making me swoon big time!

  11. Mona says:

    I love the kimono leafy nails, that’s exactly what sweden looks like right now. Dark background and red leaves ๐Ÿ™‚ The Kawaii ones are the scariest!
    But Poe is my favourite. Seriously, Poe on my nails? Any day, every day ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m in love.

  12. theblackcat1236 says:

    I love the autumn set, it’s classy with such a smooth, single-colored background and the leaves with such depth make it look amazing.

Leave a Reply

