Tumbling Acorns Nail Art

I recently bought a set of paints that I’ve had my eye on for a while.

Holbein 102 set of acrylic gouache! When I’m not painting nails, I actually do paint other things, believe it or not! I picked these up because they’re cheaper in Japan than overseas. Despite the German-sounding name, Holbein is actually a Japanese company.  They’ll be a pain to get out of the country but I love them. The only thing is, I don’t want to use them since they’re all pristine and new! I’ve always felt this way about art supplies- even as a little girl, I never wanted to use new crayons and would always try to keep them in their original pointy shapes as I colored. I guess some things never change!

But I decided to start off with a little seasonal artwork. Here are some acorns (called “donguri” in Japanese, isn’t that cute-sounding?) with happy faces. I’m afraid I have truly been in Japan too long, since smiling acorns are popping up out of  nowhere. Next I will be attaching rhinestones to plastic acorns and sticking them on trucker hats covered in silicone whipped cream or something. That’s when I’ll know I’ve gone too far!

Anyway, here’s the happy acorns!

It’s a cute and simple design. I so want to put the little nubbly that goes on top of the acorn’s ‘hats’ on the middle finger and pinkie. I can do it with some acrylic, but I’m afraid I’ll scratch myself. Maybe that will be a “photoshoot only” style.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Tumbling Acorns Nail Art

  1. I like this design :)!

  2. Frankenstyna says:

    This is so cute! I love it!
    I am also super jealous of that paint set!!! Very nice!
    Do you know when you will leave Japan yet?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks so much- glad you liked it! Not sure about the exact timeline yet, but I’ll hopefully be gone before I turn radioactive! 😛

  3. Rebecca says:

    What brown did you use? I’ve never seen a pretty brown polish like that.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I frankened it, but I used some ancient (like 1990s era!) Revlon polish from the dollar store, so I figured nobody would still have that one laying around. But some nice neutral brown eyeshadow with a bit of shimmer in the finish might yield a similar color.

  4. Rebecca says:

    Oh wow, well it turned out great! What colour would you use for the base? Clear?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, I’d try clear for the base, or some really sheer brown, which is what the ancient Revlon was. I’m not sure if it was supposed to be sheer or if that’s just what happened over the years. Who’d have thought sheer brown nail polish would be a good idea? Yeech!

  5. Libby says:

    Super duper cute! I love the fall! 🙂

  6. Lucy says:

    Those are too cute! How about some Fall leaves on your nails? I had a set of paints when I was a teen that I got for Christmas. Sadly I never used them and they dried up. I also hate to ruin them. My Mother thought I’d be a budding artist. She was sadly mistaken.

Leave a Reply

