Gel Class Rolls On

Gel classes continue! It’s definitely one of those things that looks really easy but is actually quite difficult. I think I’m getting the hang of it, due to a lot of repetition. It seems that the Impossible Dream of the gel nail art world is a pure white gradation. Of course you can do this easily with an airbrush, but doing a perfect clear to white gel gradation is the mark of a very expert gel artist. I didn’t really work on this much, since it’s not something I would wear, but apparently that’s the impressive trick to pull out if you’re having a gel-off with your buddies.

Here’s a little of what I’ve been doing:

Flowers and hearts and pink. Pink and flowers and hearts. “Cute” is definitely a theme here. I’m sure those are popular motifs everywhere, but come on people! Let’s get a little variety here!

Now here’s a little more variety. The left nail is a spooky Halloween tree over a sunset gradation with little bats. I think this disturbed the teacher, so I then did the cute bow French tip so they wouldn’t know how strange I was, then moved onto a marbled tip with rhinestones, and finally, the Turquoise nail! I love this one. In the interest of full disclosure, this is the one done by the teacher.  I can’t find the one I did, but it also looks pretty good. I’m going to do a turquoise set and then stick some jewels in it…it needs some metal studs and a little rhinestone or two, don’t you think?

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Gel Class Rolls On

  1. I love the turquoise design! Who knew that the white gradient is the “thing” to know… reminds me of how chefs talk about cooking… maybe this is like the poached egg of egg cooking? lol

  2. Rebecca says:

    These are pretty cool, I like the one with the bats the most!

  3. August says:

    The ones in the top pic and the turquoise ones are so pretty! They all look cool, though.

  4. Lucy says:

    The nails with the roses on the left is so pretty. They’re all amazing. You always do amazing work. Your Halloween spooky nail is also fantastic looking! I can’t believe how talented you are. Great work!

  5. D... says:

    I love how creative you can be. I think nails are supposed to be kawaii or elegant for Tokyoites. I think the white gradation sounds really elegant, I would wear it. But then I would get bored and want something totally different within days. Kind of defeating the whole gel nail point.

    Oh I wanted to mention that I referenced your blog and your Etsy shop on my blog. I hope that’s OK. If not just let me know and I will take it down. I didn’t use any pictures, but I did put a link for them to visit your sites.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks for the reference- I always appreciate a shout out! 🙂 Do feel free to use photos as well as long as you are kind enough to credit them (if they’re not already watermarked).

      I’m not getting very good wear out of my gels- a week or so, but I’m very hard on my hands and half the time I’m soaking in some kind of chemical, so I can’t blame the gels for that. 😛

  6. rock-or-not says:

    Amazing!!
    I love them all!

  7. Si says:

    Lol you’re so funny! I love the tree one!!! The 4th one too!!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Si! I’m glad you liked them! Gel isn’t quite as wonderful to me as painting, but there are some really fun things that can be done with it.

  8. Christie says:

    How did you do the design on the turquoise nail? the texture seem a little bit like a turquoise stone 🙂 i´ve always wanted to learn how to do those kind of nails!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      It’s supposed to look like turquoise- I’m glad it does! This design is made by applying the turquoise gel and curing it. Over that, apply a very transparent brown layer of gel but don’t cure. Then apply droplets of clear gel on the uncured layer. This will cause the brown gel to spread in a turquoise pattern. Make the dots of clear gel in random sizes and patterns. Cure the layer, then apply top gel. Voila! Turquoise!

Leave a Reply

