Poison Bottle Nails

Hello everyone! I’ve finished up my first gel nail class and am moving onto the advanced class starting today.  Gels are very nice- no horrible stink, they don’t chip, and you can even franken them! But…I have to be totally honest here. They do lift off. I don’t know if it’s just my crazy nails, but I cannot get gels to stay on longer than a week. I’ve used various brands, including Akzentz, Calgel, IBD and OPI, all with their respective primers and preparations, and I really cannot get more than a week of wear before they lift. My teacher even did them on me- same thing, lifted off after a week. There’s an extra step of dehydration and priming you can do for lift-prone people like me, but that’s not something I want to do to myself several times a week in class. I’ll have to try it later, maybe on my toes.

I haven’t tried any of the new gel polishes yet- maybe they’ll work better.  I’d be rather unhappy if I paid $30 or $40 at a salon for a gel manicure and only got a week out of it. But hey, I’m doing them myself at a cost of about 50 cents, so I can’t complain.  I’ve done some marbling but no crazy art yet- the beginner class was focused on prepping the nail and getting a totally smooth finish. Harder than it looks! It’s been killing me walking around with single color nails for days at a time- I have to resist the urge to stick rhinestones or paint on them.

So, since I’m between classes,  I got to indulge a bit this morning before class and did some good old fashioned poison bottle nails. I posted this on my Facebook too, but I just love them so much I’m putting them here too. I do collect vintage poison bottles- not sure what I’m actually going to do with them, but hey. That’s what collections are all about, right?

The most important part of these was making sure the polish was transparent. The blue and green are NARS Midnight Express and Zulu, respectively. That’s the most I ever paid for a polish and will not be doing it ever again. The amber, yellow and red are frankens- you will need to start with the most transparent polishes you have, otherwise the color will be muddy.  I handpainted the labels with acrylic paint and the skulls are Fauxnads. It needed a coat of Seche Vite to protect the acrylic paint and voila! Tiny, deadly poison bottles, ready to dump their evil little payloads on whoever gets in my way!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Poison Bottle Nails

  1. beachgal says:

    Keep up the good school work. You are living out my dream to do just what you are, going to mani school just for myself. If they offered classes around me that were only part time, I could maybe pull it off. But I cannot do more than 2-4 hrs about 3 times a week. I have suggested it to the school, they offer longer courses but shorter time needed in each class session to work around others who have jobs and also are disabled and can only work a few hours a day. They thought about it. What do they care if they get the $ other then they have to find teachers to deal with part time courses of course which most teaching want to get in there and out and not do it part time. But today, with the job market as bad as it it, I was telling the school, they might be surprised that some good nail techs in the area who have really hurting businesses as folks are skipping their manis to put food on the table…they might be surprised to find there are a few great teachers out there who could really use a part time job pick up like this that does not tax their brains as they know this stuff – just not everyone is a teacher that is for the school however to pick the ones who are.

  2. Lucy says:

    Love the poison bottles. Interesting thing to collect. Hope there’s nothing inside! You must be enjoying the heck out of those courses. Glad your learning so much.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Lucy! Luckily, none of my poison bottles have anything in them…mwa ha ha! My mom always said I would have an interesting house someday.

      I am really enjoying my classes- not sure what will ultimately come of it, but it’s a lot of fun and I’m learning a lot.

  3. I’m going to nail school currently. 🙂 My mom had a lifting problem with acrylics. After a week of wear- her nails would life.
    I don’t prime her nails with acid primer but I do use dehydrater which isn’t terrible for nails.
    I switched her over to CND Brisa gel and no lifting!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks for the tip! I haven’t tried CND- it’s not widely available here in Japan, but it might be worth a try to get the little starter kit and see how it works.

  4. D... says:

    I love the idea of gel nails, I almost bought the curer and thought I would give it a go. But I thought I would do more research and also practice with regular polish. I think the brushes I am using are too thin. By the time I get it to the nail it’s almost dry. Very challenging. I am going to go up a few sizes I think. I will keep at it. Your posts are keeping me motivated. Thanks so much!!!!!!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi D! I use a Flat #6 size brush for my gels and it seems to work pretty well. For the polish, it does take a while to get used to. Some brushes are definitely better than others- I use a variety of brushes for art. It’s a matter of trial and error! Good luck and let us know how it turns out.

  5. Rabbit says:

    Great nails. They look really dangerous :)))
    I love the shape of your nails. Currently its my favourite shape.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Rabbit! I was going for that Femme Fatale look. I like the oval a lot too- it can either be kind of retro or gothic, depending on the color and art. Very ladylike but I can’t wear these for every day!

  6. rock-or-not says:

    So cool!
    i love this mani!

  7. Kamsamnida says:

    so cool.. i wish i could do gel work like you..
    Take a look at my nail art blog.. i just posted some colorful floral Although i am just a beginner your comments are highly appreciated..

Leave a Reply

