3-D Acrylic Sculpture

Hello everyone, I haven’t collapsed from chemical pneumonia (there is such a thing- yikes!) but I’ve just been busy with my 3-D acrylic sculpture classes.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with this type of nail art, it’s made from acrylic powder and a liquid called monomer, which stinks to high heaven. The artist dips a brush in monomer, then in the powder and it forms a ball. The ball is placed on the nail and then manipulated into various shapes. Sounds simple, but is actually very difficult. The balance of liquid to powder is very important, and it’s hard to control. Too much liquid will give you a runny, globby shape and too much powder will leave a crusty, uneven design. Usually you’ve got several seconds to get it on, shape it and then move onto the next part.

Nail school has been a blast- lots of fun people and interesting stuff to learn. However, nobody wears a mask. The poor teacher has this perpetual cough. It CANNOT be good for you. I wear a mask with filters (!) and introduced myself as Darth Vadar. That got a laugh from everyone. But everyone’s putting their face inches from these nasty chemicals for 6 hours a day. Yikes.  I did it the first day without a mask and got an epic sore throat.

So, here’s some of what I made.

This being Japan, we did cute things like bows, hearts and flowers, but I’m looking forward to making some really weird stuff (of course).  I need more practice, but it has to be a nice day where I can keep the windows open while I do the sculpture.

My next course is a gel course, we’ll see how I do with that. At least it doesn’t seem to be quite as much of a lung-killer as the acrylic is.

 

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to 3-D Acrylic Sculpture

  1. Lucy says:

    Very pretty bows and flowers. Very smart wearing a mask. I’ve always wondered about the fumes that come off those chemicals. Glad your enjoying yourself. I heard about the earthquake. My God Japan isn’t catching a break. I hope your okay!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Lucy,
      Yeah, we’ve been feeling some aftershocks lately. Somewhat unnerving but it usually only lasts a few seconds. I hope the mask is actually working- it seems to be, but I wish everyone would wear one.

  2. beachgal says:

    The lavender one looks like a wedding cup cake!

  3. beachgal says:

    Good luck with your gel course protocol! Will be curious what product line they use. I have heard from one person who is a layman at this who was not impressed with what we can buy at Sally’s – Gellicous or something close to that – know I have seen it there and looked at it. But I don’t want to like gels and have to invest in it all. I have too much in color invested in regular nail polish and want to keep loving them and using them. Be nice to have a gel on occasion – but the cost is so high to do them just now and again.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I’ve started the gel classes and we use a bunch of different kinds to get used to the different textures. I haven’t tried those brush-on gel polishes, though. I’ve been wearing my gel nails to test the durability and they are pretty good, but I think I too will be a polish girl at heart. It’s great that gels wear for 2 weeks with no chips, but I never wear any color for 2 weeks!

  4. Kathleen says:

    Your art is SO pretty!!!!! I have been wanting to learn this form of nail art for a long time. Thanks for the pictures ^_^

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks! I’m so glad you liked it! The trickiest part is learning how much material to use and the proper mix. It really does stink terribly and I couldn’t imagine doing it for hours every day, but with a little practice, it can be a lot of fun.

  5. August says:

    The purple one is so cute!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you! Glad you liked it! I may do a version of this on myself if I’m feeling really girly. 😛

  6. D... says:

    Oh I love it. My best friend used to live in Japan so I would get wonderful gifts sent to California. I was thinking of taking some nail courses here too, but I don’t know if the quality of the courses would be on par with the ones in Japan. I’m new to your blog, but I’m just loving it. I love all the creativity.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks D! And welcome to the blog! The nail courses should be basically the same- once you get the foundation skills down, you can look at some Japanese nail art magazines or websites, practice the designs and then come up with your own unique ones.

  7. Cheryl says:

    Ooh that’s awesome! I know how much acrylic liquid stinks, the closed bottle can still stink up my room. I bought some acrylic liquid and powders to try myself, but you’re right, it is super duper hard! I can’t wait to see what else you can come up with!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks! Yes, it is super powerful- definitely open a window and put a fan on after you’re finished. Mostly, it’s just practice practice practice until you can get a good mix every time. From there, the creative fun begins!

  8. Allie says:

    Waouh ! That’s amazing !!! *O* I really love the black flowers !

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks so much! They are a bit over the top, but then again, 3-D nails are not for the shy. 😛

  9. Rachel says:

    Amazing results dahling, bravo!!! I can’t wait to see you get deeper into the other wild and wacky designs~~smooches

Leave a Reply

