Nail School and An Evil Twin

Hello everyone! I’ve decided to take the plunge and go to nail school- not full-time or to get a diploma, just for fun and because I want to learn nail art in the homeland of Wacky Nails. Right now, I’m learning acrylic 3-D art. It stinks horribly, like a chemical factory,  and the poor teacher has this hacking cough, probably from being exposed to all these chemicals all day. I’m the only person wearing a mask in the class. Yikes.

In less exciting news, someone (in Japan, no less!) has stolen photos of my nail art from my Etsy shop, and is claiming the nails as her own.  I’d give her some leeway if those were common designs, but they’re my own original design- it’s not like we got them out of a magazine.  But what’s REALLY chapping my hide is that she’s selling them. Yes, she’s selling MY nails that she claims she made.  And here’s the real burn: For more than twice what I charge.  I have the Facebook screenshot showing her page where she’s ripped off about 10 sets of my nails. Someone asks her, “Wow, did you make those yourself?” and she replies, “Yep :3!” Either I have a Japanese evil twin that I didn’t know about or she’s a scammy liar.

I’m afraid of what her “customers” are going to get when they buy nails she doesn’t have. I’m guessing….those poor people will get Nothing.  So she’s using my work to cheat people, which is not cool. I don’t want to be any part of that, however indirectly.  Sooo….this means I have to watermark ALL my photos smack dab in the middle. This is going to take forever.  Boo for crummy people who are full of crap!

But there’s one thing I’ve learned: you can’t shame the shameless. No amount of name-calling or arguing will make dodgy people feel bad about the scumbaggery they do. It’s a waste of time and energy trying to get them to change their ways, and it’s best just do what you have to in order to stop them, which in this case means endless watermarking of photos.

Phew! I’m off to practice the elusive acrylic 3-D rose!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Japanese Nail Art, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Nail School and An Evil Twin

  1. How exciting that you’re taking nail classes! I can’t wait to read about it! And… that’s weird that someone is copying you like that 😦

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Oh, thank you! It’s been a blast so far, but much harder than I thought! I think the Scammy McScammer is just using my items to rip people off- they pay for it and then never get the item. Boo! I’ve been watermarking my photos like mad, though, so I hope that will solve the issue.

  2. mon says:

    Hi! I don’t comment much but I’m glad to hear that you’re busy doing something that you like right now. Boo hiss to scummy scumbags. It’s true, these people have no shame because they think that they can hide behind the veil of the internet. Just have faith that karma will get them in the end. Good luck with nail school and I look forward to seeing any wacky designs that they teach you! ps. I wonder how their nail courses differ from the ones in the States…

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks for leaving a comment! Always nice to hear from new folks. 😀
      Yeah, most people are good and decent, but there are a few bad apples around. I don’t want my items to be used to cheat anyone, so I’ve been watermarking all my photos.

      I think the Japanese nail courses focus more on art and technique rather than sanitation (yeech!) At the moment, it is not necessary in Japan to be licensed as a nailist in order to work in a salon. Strange but true.

  3. beachgal says:

    I also want to go to nail tech school just for my own thing – not to make a business out of it. But like you, I don’t think I would make it through the acrylic chemical smells.
    How crappy that lady is pulled your nail art projects and is trying to make $ off it. But not surprised at all. You need to do your watermark on all your art photos and print them off, mail yourself a copy with registered mail or whatever official the PO or UPS or FedEx has to back up the date..then don’t open it when you get the packet…that is your safe guard that this is your property and you have it to a fixed date – kind of a cheap person’s copy write.
    If you use Photoshop, yes, it will be a process to take each of your photos down to the last layer and add in the transparent watermark. If you do them in another program that is not quite so sophisticated as in it does not work in layers, you probably can put in the watermark easier. It would be more a paste, paste, paste function and while boring, would go faster than programs working in layers. I don’t know a lot of different photo programs anymore as I only use Photoshop (full) and Photoshop Elements now.

  4. Rebecca says:

    Some people seriously suck!!! Good luck with your nail class!

  5. Rach says:

    Jen sweety! I have so much time in my hands today, thought Matisse & I visit your blog and boy did that preposterous design thief news made my teeth grit and my nose blowing smoke and fire and Matisse howling mad! Have ALL your nail art designs copyrighted and yes, watermark each and every photo on display. That person is a LAZY, insecure, nail designer wanna be, I hope you got her attention by exposing her dastardly doings grrr, as much as I want to cuss, but revenge is sweeter, just wait. Your going to level up your designs by furthering your education, so don’t put off the copyrighting and water marking baby girl. Oh and it’s been a few months since I last used my Paint Shop Pro, maybe I should test it again and help you watermark ALL your photos. XOXOXO

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Oh, thanks, Rach! I will be watermarking my butt off, starting with my new designs and then working my way back to the older ones. And thanks for the kind offer! If I find out her address, we can sic Matisse the Attack Poodle on her! 😛 She’s taken down her site or blocked access to it, so I can’t see what she’s up to at the moment.

  6. August says:

    I’m so sorry about the scammer. Well, karma will get back at her. Just shake it off, finish those watermarks, and know that she is going to get what she deserves. I’m opening an etsy store very soon and now I know I should put water marks on the photos after reading that. Good luck with the class by the way. It sounds like fun!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks a lot! Yes, do watermark your photos and do it right across the middle so thieves can’t just crop it off the bottom like my impostor did. It did take well over 1000 sales for me before this started happening, though.

  7. which designs did she steal?? you need to sue!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      As much as I would love to, it’s not worth the time and money. I did leave her a nasty message and asked some people I know to infiltrate her Facebook account, since I think she blocked me. Mwa ha ha, you can’t get away from NTMG! If she keeps it up, I will really embarrass her publicly.

  8. Lucy says:

    That’s such a horrible thing to happen to you. I hope you can fight this. It’s just shamless that she stole your pictures and designs. I hope you can really do something about her. That’s wonderful that your going to nail school. I don’t blame you wearing a mask. Those fumes are horrible. You’ll do so good since you already do amazing work.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Aw, thanks Lucy. I’ve started putting watermarks on the MIDDLE of all my photos, which I hate to do, but she just cropped off the watermarks I had on the bottom of the photos. I just feel bad for her “customers” who sent her money and won’t get anything. I think she’s just a scammer. Boo.

      And thanks for the vote of confidence about nail class! 🙂

  9. Laura says:

    Dang, that is unbelievably obnoxious. And I don’t understand how far she or he’s planning on getting before people complain and do charge backs?

    Good luck with the acrylic 3-Ds. I look forward to seeing what you come up with!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I think she’s just a small time Scammy-McScams-A-Lot. If she can get a few people to buy the items, she’s got a couple weeks before she gets exposed. Might get her a couple hundred bucks at most, but I think there are a lot of people doing that sort of thing. Buncha bad apples! But the watermarking should cut most of that off.

      I’ve been enjoying nail art class- but I’ve still got a long way to go!

  10. Ariane says:

    Jen, do you mind telling me what nailist school you are going to in Tokyo? I looked up a few (been living between there and Montreal, this last year) but they were SCARY expensive…

  11. Ruthless says:

    What’s the link to her store? I’ve bought lots of your stuff, I’ll report her on etsy (not like that does a damn thing)

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Ruth! The little snake had a boutique linked to Facebook called “My Kawaii Boutique.” I got blocked so I can’t see what she’s up to, but she did take it down at least temporarily. I do know what you mean about Etsy not getting involved in disputes. In one way, I know they can’t really police the site like that, but blatant ripoffs (and stealing the descriptions) are just so frustrating! There’s another seller that just cut and pasted my descriptions word-for-word, but nothing can be done. The only thing I can do is keep on making crazy designs. 😛 Thanks for the support!

Leave a Reply

