Dried Flower Manicure

It’s a beautiful summer day- the rainy season hasn’t set in just yet, and the super-humid Asian summer is still a little way off.  I’m going to go outside for a bit, because it would be a crime to stay inside on a day this perfect!

But first, here’s what I’m wearing on my nails! The base color is a periwinkle blue mixed from half China Glaze Bermuda Breakaway and half creme white.  On top of that, I just mixed some glitter and clear polish in my silicone baking cup and painted some dark pink, aqua and light pink stripes. A lot of glitter will turn silver when it hits clear nail polish- test a bit first. It has nothing to do with price- I’ve had some cheap glitters stay colorfast and some expensive ones lose their color in a snap. But do test first so you won’t be disappointed!

The finishing touch was some dried flowers and rhinestones. The flowers are easy- just lay them on a layer of wet polish, smooth them gently with a finger or plastic spoon (I use the little sugar spoons from the coffee shop) and then top off with a layer of clear polish. They’re not super-durable but they will last a while. If you really want them to stay on, you’ll have to cover them in a layer of UV gel.

Oh! I just realized where I saw this color combination before…on my summer cotton kimono (yukata).

I’m not really good at making serious faces, but it feels strange to put on a big old smile while in traditional Japanese clothing at the shrine. I’m half-smirking, but in the photos where I didn’t smile, I looked mad. Ya just can’t win sometimes.  It’s a very Japanese expression, anyway-  I could either be quietly overjoyed or planning murder.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Dried Flower Manicure

  1. Kaybee says:

    Wow, so pretty!! The nails and you!

  2. Rebecca says:

    Cool Kimono!! Love the nails too, I’ve never seen anyone else use dried flowers in a manicure before.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Rebecca, glad you liked it! These dried flowers are very popular in Japanese nail art, usually in gel nails.

  3. Si says:

    You’re so beautiful!! The nails are pretty too. Lol.

  4. Kathleen says:

    You look lovely! And very elegant in a Kimono ^_^

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you Kathleen! These light cotton ones are much easier to wear than the traditional ones. They’re kind of like a snazzy cotton bathrobe with a bigger belt.

  5. Halifax says:

    Aww, you look lovely while planning murders lol

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Mwa ha ha! I’ve got it in for that old guy who grabbed my rear end on the subway, the nosy neighbor, and one of my former co-workers. Run away if you see the fake serene smirk-like expression! 😉

  6. August says:

    omg! I love them! I’ve always wondered how dried flowers look on nails.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I’m glad you liked it! They’re fun and easy to do, just make sure to slap on a nice thick layer of topcoat over them to make sure they don’t curl up.

  7. Voly says:

    Beautiful manicure, and beautiful Yukata. The color and pattern really suit you well.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks, Voly! I love those blues and indigos and purples. This yukata and belt came in a kit, which are usually pretty tacky, but I think this one was one of the better ones. At least there are no Disney characters on it!

  8. Laura says:

    You and your kimono are both so pretty! Funny, I would have thought that nail polish would dissolve dried flowers. I love your mani, tho.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Laura! Thanks- I’m glad you liked the manicure and my getup! The nail polish will dissolve dried flowers if it’s brushed on hard. A light hand is the key to this one.

  9. Wow! Beautiful! (the nails, too!)

  10. Himeringo says:

    You really look beautiful in Yukata! I have been enjoying wearing those
    Andy W’s Nail tips you made!!! I just love those.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you!! How’s things at the new place? I hope everything is going very well with you. 😀

  11. Lucy Pinto says:

    I almost spit out my iced tea! Your gorgeous just like your art work. The Japanese are know for their serene expressions. That’s just how you look while plotting murder. Beautiful kimono. Do you have a collection of them? Beautiful color and pattern.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Aw, thanks Lucy! I didn’t know I had such evil in my heart until I saw my photo. 😉

      I’m smirking, but I’m good company, traditionally. Showing teeth was considered taboo in old Japanese society and high-class women even blackened their teeth. I guess the black teeth are one bit of Japanese culture that isn’t going to become popular anytime soon.

      I have a couple of the summer kimonos since the aren’t too expensive. The real ones with brocade and silk cost several thousand dollars. Many Japanese just rent them when they need to wear one to a wedding or event. The wedding ones are to die for but cost in the neighborhood of $8000 USD, which is why everyone rents one!

  12. Paola, a fellow gaijin in Tokyo says:

    Lovely yukata and nails! The colors are stunning on you 🙂
    I have one too, but i can never master the courage to wear it, not even for matsuri type things. You are rocking the look though, so maybe this summer I’ll also give it a try.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks very much! My yukata only comes out during biiig festivals since I do feel a little strange in it but the only really important thing is: left over right! I had to peek at a Youtube video to make sure I got the hang of it. When I get stared at, I just remind myself that the Japanese wear blue contacts, dye their hair blonde, and wear western clothes, so I’m hardly out of line.

  13. libbeh says:

    “For a limited time only” – LOL!! Love the “smirk” too, haha! 🙂

Leave a Reply

