Temari-Inspired Nails

Hi everyone! Now that my job has ended, I’m taking it easy for a bit and catching my breath before I move onto the next thing. I have no idea what that is yet, but I’m going to enjoy the downtime while it lasts.

In the spirit of relaxation, I went to the hot springs in northern Nagano, Japan, over the weekend. Aaaahhhh. It was really nice to get away. The area is pretty mountainous, with cool weather and lots of nature. Most importantly, it feels far from Tokyo! As much as I love the big city, I sometimes have to get away.

So here’s some photos, then I’ll show you some nail art inspired by the local crafts!

 

Natural hot springs in a big hinoki (Japanese cypress) tub. It smelled wonderful.

Nice little garden and foot bath with natural hot water.

The ryokan (Japanese-style bed and breakfast). Lots of old buildings around, which is a nice change from Tokyo.

And since this is a nail blog, not a travel blog, I’ll move onto the manicure!

There’s a local handicraft called “temari,” which are decorative thread-wrapped balls. They range in size from tiny to giant and they’ve become kind of a symbol of this area.

All that detail is thread wrapped around the ball in a decorative pattern. This one is about the size of an orange and cost around $8.  I’m going to use it as a Christmas ornament when I get back home.  Not really its intended use but I think it will look nice.

The base is China Glaze Vermillion, a nice creme/slightly jelly red. I then painted a star pattern in the same colors at the temari on the nails using acrylic paint and topped off with a coat of Seche. This is new for me- I usually paint with nail polish rather than paint, but the paint is easier. It’s not as durable, though, so I hesitate to use it until I’ve done a little more experimenting with sealants and how it wears.

I’ll be doing a bunch of nails based on traditional kimono patterns in the upcoming weeks. I’ve been noticing things more here as I’m preparing to leave by year end, so I figure I should appreciate all the local tidbits and “Japan only” things before I leave for good!

 

 

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Temari-Inspired Nails

  1. Kathleen says:

    Wow, the pictures of the hot spring look so inviting! It makes me want to take a hot bath with rose scented bath salts.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Kathleen! Yeah, it was really nice to soak in water up to my neck..aah! Hope you can do the same with your scented bath salts. 🙂

  2. Christie says:

    Wow looks amazing! I love the colors!! How did you do the pattern on your nails?could you do a tutorial?maybe video? it looks hard to do the pattern

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Sure, as soon as I can get another set of hands to take the photos, I’ll be glad to do a tutorial. It takes some basic painting skills but is not too hard. 🙂

  3. Christie says:

    Im new here on your blog so i would like to read about you, who you are m.m but i cant find a description box :-/

  4. Rebecca says:

    Ooh the hot springs look lovely! I’m happy that you’re taking all of this and making the best of it. Enjoy your time off 🙂

  5. August says:

    It looks so nice! Where I live there is nothing like that.

  6. Lucy says:

    You deserve lots of rest and relaxation. Beautiful area and that cypress bath looks like heaven. Must have been so healing for your heart and soul. You’ve done a beautiful job with the temari inspired manicure. Just beautiful!

Leave a Reply

