Changes…

Hey everyone, I’m sorry to have been missing in action but I’ve been a bit bummed and insanely busy to boot. I can’t share details yet but it looks like I’m going to have a spare 40 hours of time on my hands every week, starting from June 1. Boo! As I…um…transition from this Formerly Performed Activity That Cannot Be Mentioned in Detail That I Used to Do Every Day in Downtown Tokyo to newfound hours of free time, things have been a little crazy. 2011 has been quite a year so far. Earthquakes, tsunami, Nuclear Crises, then all this. I’m kind of waiting for a cartoon anvil to drop on my head, or nail polish burglars to hit my place.  Something strange seems to be in the air…I mean, besides all the radiation.

In good and delightful news, though, I passed 1000 sales in my Etsy shop, which has been really exciting. Mr. NTMG took me out to the Shangri-La Hotel to celebrate and we had a delightfully snooty afternoon tea.  I always pile the wonderful thick cream on the scones,  though I’m really lactose intolerant and it always comes back to haunt me later. The scone is basically just a cream-delivery device. I always pay dearly for putting that much dairy in my body, but I just can’t  seem to resist it.  I’ve had afternoon tea at the Peninsula Hotel in Hong Kong (dee-lightful and lots of variety, though the tea is not that great), the Raffles in Singapore (they depend heavily on their great atmosphere and history, because for the enormous pricetag, the actual tea and food were totally forgettable), Mariage Freres (good thing their tea is excellent, because the waiters have unbelievable attitude) and at the Park Hyatt in Tokyo (nice, but totally designed for the middle-aged Japanese woman). I figure I don’t go out to bars and drink, so I can blow the savings on tea and scones.

This year so far been a time of great change, which I’m not really that good with. I’m excited for the next phase of what comes next, but in a lot of ways, it seems like the rug (tatami mat?) has been sort of swept out from under my feet.  Once I regain my footing, I think I’ll know more clearly what to do next. I am also leaving Japan this year, which I had been planning on doing for a while, but now that the apartment lease is running down, it seems much more difficult than I had imagined. Phew! I think Task #1 is going to be finding a way to get this nail polish home, since it can’t go by air. Sea-mail would be OK but they constantly ‘lose’ packages.

So that’s things in a nutshell over here. When I’m unsettled, it’s hard for me to be creative. Other people do their best work when they’re off-balanced, but it doesn’t work that way for me, so I’ve just been doing some business-type things, like addressing envelopes and finally setting up a  Facebook account for the business side of my nail empire. 😉

Thanks everyone for all your support…I hope next year is not quite as exciting as this year has been so far!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Changes…

  1. crlsweetie912 says:

    I’m so sorry to hear of all the turmoil you have been experiencing. I had a nail polish burglar hit my house a couple of weeks ago, so…..I know it’s not the same, just was so funny that you would mention that and it ACTUALLY happened to me. Keep being positive, I know things will get better for you.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      A nail polish burglar? Whoa! I was just being silly when I said that, but they really exist! So the next step is also to be careful about cartoon anvils falling on your head…

      And thanks for the kind words- I really appreciate it.

      • crlsweetie912 says:

        YES! My home was broken into and they took my two Melmers, I’m down to about 40 polishes…I wanted to cry but at least no one was hurt! Do they still make anvils? I don’t think so, we’re safe! LOL!!!!!

      • nevertoomuchglitter says:

        I cannot believe that! Who on earth would do that? I hope they get deadly nail fungus and also a heaping helping of cystic acne to boot, and a permanent wedgie. I hope they catch those rotten people and that they didn’t get away with anything else.

        I may have something to cheer you up- drop me an email at nevertoomuchglitter at gmail.com

  2. Jessi says:

    I hope things settle down for you really soon; it’s definitely not fun feeling like your life is out of whack. But, congratulations on 1000 sales! That’s awesome! I always check your shop out when I’m on Etsy, but I don’t have the patience for false nails. Even though yours are beautiful. You should do more “traditional” art because I would totally buy that! I’m tempted to buy some of your nails just to hang on my wall, haha. So, are you coming back to the States? You seem like you have such an exciting life, I can’t wait to hear what you do next. 🙂

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Jessi! I actually started out doing regular old painting and sketching but found that my Japanese apartment was too small for regular sized art. From there, I got smaller and smaller until I started using nails as my canvas. I acutally do have stuff in to make resin necklaces and things out of nails, as strange as that sounds.

      I’m leaving Japan by December for sure, as my apartment lease is up and non-renewable. I’m done with moving, plus a new apartment lease requires bribing the landlord with about 5 months’ rent, no lie. I think I’m going to take the long way home and do some travel through Russia and Africa if I get the chance.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks so much, Jessi! I heard some people save the nails after they’re done wearing them and encased them in a resin pendant. I did start out as a classical artist, sketchbook and painting and all that. When I actually have a decent sized place I plan to start doing bigger work again, in addition to nails.

      I wish my life was a bit more boring- I think I’ve had enough excitement to last a while. 😉

  3. Doo says:

    I love to read your updates – though I’m sorry for all the unwanted changes in your life. You seem to have a balanced way to sort things out and the sense of humor to handle it. Makes me think I should write more too to sort my feelings… I’m not sure if you do it already, but you should share your writings with some magazine/paper as an overseas correspondent.

    And congrats on your 1000 sales! Who knows how your business will continue to grow when you move and gain new customers. I wish you all the best 🙂

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Doo! My sense of humor keeps me afloat even when I get pretty bummed, but it’s definitely a bit off-center. Writing and painting have taken the edge off my somewhat more disturbing feelings, plus it gives me a fun way to look back on everything I’ve seen and done. I hate blabbing about myself, especially where the whole world can see, so I had to have some kind of hobby-type thing to show, so there would be something new to talk about!

      Etsy has been a blast and I’ve learned a lot about business and dealing with the public…it’s been an education in and of itself.

  4. Tera says:

    Congratulations on 1000 sales, you should be extremely proud of that! It is sad that you are leaving Japan but I hope you have more fantastic adventures in the future where ever you go. Will you still be keeping a blog?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Tera! I won’t be leaving Japan for a while, at least several months if not longer. I will defintiely keep blogging for sure- it’s been so much fun and I’ve met so many interesting people. 🙂

  5. Lucy says:

    I’m so glad to see your posting again. I’ve been checking daily. Your resiliency is impressive. You’ve piqued my interest with activity you can’t mention. I should imagine a great many people in Japan feel as you do. I’m glad you’ll be able to come home. Can you start sending your polish somehow to your family or a trusted friend? I can’t imagine how much you’ll have to do. It will be amazing to travel through Russia and Africa. I hope you’ll still be blogging. I love to read of your adventures. You do have great writing skills. I’d love to go to a high tea. I love a good scone and clotted cream. I’m too fond of the cream also. Thank God I’m not lactose intolerant. Congrats on all your sales. Your so talented. I knew you’d do well with your nails. Now, be careful if you see the Road Runner or the Coyote. If you do, run lilke hell!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Lucy! Thanks for checking in! I’m going to be hanging around Japan for a few more months at least to finish up my affairs and get everything in order and do all those things I’ve been meaning to do! I may make a quick trip to Guam or Hawaii if the airfare is cheap so I can mail my stuff home from there at US domestic rates. (Any excuse for a beach vacation will do!)

Leave a Reply

