Faberge Egg Nail Art For Easter

Lookee at what I’ve been cooking up over here!

Here’s a set of nails inspired by those fabulous yet somewhat tragic Faberge Eggs made for the Russian royalty from the late 1890s until their untimely deaths about 20 years later. Each year, they had an egg with a ‘surprise’ inside made by the House of Faberge. The Faberge folk were definitely people I can identify with- they loved color and sparkle. The eggs were all unique and just plain fantastic!

Here’s my nail tribute to these amazing works of art. Click on the photos to see the full-sized version.

From left to right, these are duplicates of:

Memories of Azov/Blue Serpent Clock/St. George Coranation/Mosiac/Rose Trellis/Clover/15th Anniversary/Diamond Trellis/Danish Palaces/Lilly of the Valley

Sorry, I don’t know the original names so I’ve just listed the commonly used English names.

I need to get some teeny Swarovski crystals by special order so I can add them on top of the dotting on the Rose Trellis and Diamond Trellis eggs. I generally use crystals in size SS5 or larger, but these will need SS1 or SS3.  So until they get fully blinged-out, I’m considering these a first draft. I’ll be sure to show you guys once they’re all rhinestone-encrusted like they should be. After all, the originals were covered in precious stones, so I can’t break tradition! (Swirly eyes as I grab the my Swarovski color chart and put an order in with the Crystal Pusher!)

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Japanese Nail Art, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Faberge Egg Nail Art For Easter

  1. Rebecca says:

    I love these! Faberge eggs are so intricate and you totally captured the individual elements of each egg, impressive! My favourite Faberge Egg is “Lillies of the Valley”, but I want to wear all the nails in the 4th photo! 🙂

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Rebecca! I’m glad you liked them. The real Faberge eggs are so fabulous it’s amazing to think they were created more than 100 years ago. What amazing artisans…

  2. RuthieGirl says:

    So gorgeous!!! I happened on your blog when searching for something… a certain nail color, maybe? Can’t remember now – but seeing your gorgeous Nail Art renditions of the Faberge Eggs was such an unexpected surprise! You’re a really talented artist! Thanks for sharing your gift of beauty with the rest of us on the intertubes. 🙂

    P.S. Was browsing a little bit and am loving the rest of your blog, too!!! ❤

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks so much- I’m always glad to share the things I’m cooking up over here. And thanks for stopping by and checking out the blog!

  3. Jessi says:

    I can’t get over how freakin talented you are! I was showing my boyfriend, who dislikes anything related to nails, your creations and he said in awe, “That isn’t nail polish (he says this phrase with disgust), that’s ART!”

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Jessi! And what are you doing with a guy who dislikes nails? 😛 (Just kidding of course!) I’m glad even he liked (?) the nails. Just call them “miniature paintings.” LOL.

  4. Lucy says:

    I love Fabrege eggs. They are gorgeous. I can’t believe how lovely your nails came out! The lily of the valley egg is one of my favorites. I collect Joan Rivers Fabrebge egg ornaments for the Christmas tree. Love to see them in person.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I love them too, I can hardly believe things so beautiful were made so long ago. I’m thinking of going to Russia for a holiday and seeing the eggs is definitely on my list!

  5. Chrissy says:

    How funny you and I think alike I was trying to decide what to for my other nails since I finished my hello kitty bunny. So I was thinking eggs….. but no I want to do fabulous eggs I want to do Fabrege eggs!!! So thanks for the inspiration 😀

  6. Zara says:

    Those are so cool! My favorite is the one that’s the third from the right in the first picture.

Leave a Reply

