Esssscapee Snake Nails

Well, I’m a little behind on this one, but I just read the story of the cobra that escaped from the Bronx Zoo.  It even had a (very funny!) Twitter account, which means that a snake is better at social media than I am. Luckily she (?) was recovered without harm on the human or snake side of things.

So here’s my snake-inspired nails:

These were done with a very simple marbling techinique, but with vertical stripes instead of diagonal ones. If you’d like to see how to do marbling, check this tutorial out.  For this look, I painted the base in a khaki color and let it dry. Then I applied a coat of clear polish, painted white and dark green vertical stripes, then marbled it horizontally by dragging a toothpick through the wet design. Of course I finished it off with a glittery topcoat.

While this did look like snakeskin, it just wasn’t quite snakey enough, so I decided to make Cobra Cameo nails. I painted a white oval on top of the snakeskin, and then added a teeny cobra and some dots. This is one of my mom’s favorite decorations for her nails, so maybe it runs in the family.

Just a little fun for a Friday morning.

Oh, and I’m almost all caught up with the comments left over the last few weeks! Thanks everyone for your kind words and I’m sorry I wasn’t able to take the time to personally respond to them until now.  I just needed to set a chunk of time aside (power supply willing) and get to them all at once. But please know all your comments are appreciated!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Esssscapee Snake Nails

  1. Lucy says:

    Love this manicure. I like the horizontal marbling. Hope your doing well after the aftershock? Will it ever end! Take care sweetie.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Lucy! It was actually done by mistake and I liked the look since it was something a little different.

      Yeah, I am so tired of aftershocks. At least I was home for this one because it happened around 11:30PM. The worst is being out and about and having the trains stopped. Thanks for your kindness as always. ❤

  2. ShutenDoji says:

    I love the snake! He even has a little tongue sticking out!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks! I think I might even paint it pink next time…it’s my favorite part. But I don’t want to injure any serpentine dignity. But I WILL give him a tiny rhinestone eye for sure next time.

  3. Kaybee says:

    Wow, the snake pattern is cool! I really love it with the little snakes on top. It makes the background look even more realistic. What a great design! I’m glad you are well. I think of you often!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks so much! I’m glad you liked it! And if you’d like, I’d be dee-lighted to make a set just for you and put it in my Etsy store. It should run around $8 or 9. And I’ll even put teeny rhinestones on the eyes if you like. 😉

  4. Kaybee says:

    Oh by the way, are you going to put those in your etsy store? I would buy those!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yes ma’am! I will make them today and zip you a mail when they’re ready!

      • Kaybeeq says:

        Yay!! I’ll be buying them! Are you like me in wondering how it can be as bad as Chernobyl, yet not dangerous to humans? My first thought was, “Wait, what?” Chernobyl was pretty damn dangerous, and for many miles around it. Still is. When will they just come out with the truth?

  5. Gejba says:

    It looks great! Hope earth stops shaking in your part of the world.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you- me too! I’ll take the little earthquakes, I just don’t want any more NUCLEAR DISASTER! stuff. That was the worst part for sure.

  6. August says:

    OMG! Those snakes look so perfect! How did you do those?

  7. Laura says:

    You have lovely hands, and this is a gorgeous manicure. I really like the pre-cobra part. How did you do it?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Laura,
      Thanks- I’m so glad you liked it! It’s done with vertical marbling, which is a fancy way of saying I painted vertical stripes on a wet base, then raked across them with a pointy stick to make the marbling pattern. Check out the Marbling Tutorial referenced in the post for photos and step by step detials.

Leave a Reply

