Pop Art Nails

A rare double post! Life really ground to a halt over the last week and a half. My office was shut down, so I worked from home and it actually drove me a little batty. I’m not sure how much work I actually would have gotten done anyway, but sometimes it’s better to be with other people.

Anyway, enough about the awful events… for whatever reason I had some extra time on my hands doesn’t matter- it what I did with it that counts! Of course it involved nail polish. Here are some nails I painted today, inspired by Andy Warhol. Each one is a tiny copy of an Andy Warhol work. I realized afterwards that Chairman Mao was a really bad guy and I probably didn’t want to paint him, but he is one of Warhol’s more iconic portraits. Each one is painted with nail polish and a tiny brush. No printers or anything like that.

Andy Warhol was also a daschund lover, so that gives him extra points in my book. I think if I make another set of these, I’m going to add in a portrait of Andy Warhol and take out the Chairman Mao.

I hope you enjoyed these. It feels really good to get back on the nail polish wagon and just paint. Art therapy, I’ll call it. 🙂

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Pop Art Nails

  1. StephanieCa7 says:

    Those rock! You do amazing work!

  2. grace says:

    ahhh i love these!!! the banana and soup can are amazing! great job 🙂

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      🙂 Thanks- the banana was one of the easier ones but the soup can was tricky. Next time I’m going to try and put it on a bigger nail.

  3. Rebecca says:

    These are super awesome!! I’m always astounded at your skills, you’re a truly talented person! I’d totally wear the Campbell soup nails too 😛

    Glad to see you’re still able to be creative amidst all the craziness.

  4. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    It’s art therapy! When I paint, I concentrate so much that I can miss the phone ringing. I just needed to tune out for a while. Being that Japan is pretty strict on mind-altering substances, nail polish was my best option!

  5. Rabbit says:

    Nails are great! For me painting nails is also good therapy when I am stressed. Focusing on small details takes me somewhere far away from all the problems. I am happy that you can runaway from all this bad informations!!!

  6. Jessi says:

    You are so awesome and talented! I wish I was better than just mediocre at ANYTHING! Haha! But anyways, I’ve been Internet-less for about a week now and just caught up with all your posts. I’m really glad that you’re okay and hopefully it stays that way!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Aw, you’re making me blush. This is acutally just the result of a LOT of practice. I started painting on canvasses and eventually I worked my way down in size to nails. And thanks for the well wishes. 🙂

  7. marrird says:

    WOwowowowowowowowow! You are soooo good! Love the Marilyn one 😉

  8. Lucy says:

    You do beautiful work. Best thing to do is to lose yourself in your art. I can understand that you would want to be with others. At least you can all be together and share the experience as horrible as it is.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Glad you liked them! It was a nice escape, though now Pop Art + Nuclear Disaster go together in my mind, at least for now.

  9. Cheryl says:

    Wow that is so so so gorgeous! I think it’s even more challenging painting on nails than on canvas because nails are just so tiny and they’re curved. You’re an amazing artist.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you! It is a little tough due to the curve and the fact that nail polish dries REALLY fast. I had to use matte white (OPI Alpine Frost Matte) and it dries in less than a minute.

  10. Allie says:

    Wonderful work, full of details ! I really like it ^^
    *sorry if I make mistakes, I’m french*

  11. Pingback: Salvador Dali- Persistence of Memory Nail Art « Nevertoomuchglitter’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

