March 21 Update

Well, the Japan NUCLEAR CRISIS!  has dropped down from on the top of Google news to below Wyclef Jean’s bogus shooting. I guess that’s a good thing. Since it looks like we’re not about to start glowing, the sensationalist news sources have moved on. Phew.

I had kind of a cynical laugh last night. They’ve restored partial power to the plant and their cooling systems have been restarted, at least enough to keep things in control. The news moved onto Libya. But then…the pressure in the #3 reactor (with the plutonium in it!) went high enough where TEPCO said they were going to have to vent (radioactive) steam out of it. Yay! Another crack at some doomsday reporting! The news sources picked the story back up again, vaulting Japan back up to the top of the news feed, and then TEPCO suddenly said, “Oh, um, we don’t actually have to vent it.”

The way those creeps at TEPCO have been with their ongoing fabrications and cover-ups, my immediate thought was, “They’re going to vent it overnight when no one can really see the steam. They’ll claim they did it at night to avoid panic, but they’ll really just be hoping to hide the fact that their reactor is not really under control.” It’s obvious that in the absence of facts or data, they assume everything is hunky-dory. If they can’t see any water in the cooling pool, that doesn’t necessarily mean it’s dry, right? These are the people who came up with the statement, “The possibility of re-criticality is not zero.” What a bunch of creeps.

TEPCO will be on my you-know-what list permanently. I think they’ll look even worse as the investigation unfolds, if there is any data left after the quake/tsunami/multiple explosions and fires.  From the preliminary investigation, it looks like they let things go almost to the brink of disaster out of a mix of ignorance and greed.  Of course the plant will be permanently scuttled after all this is over and the fuel is able to be removed, but that’s not enough punishment for them. We’ll see what information comes out in the upcoming investigation.

Trace  levels of radiation have been found  in food and water but the Japanese government has been using its favorite phrase, “not harmful to human health.”  I’m still not opening the windows.

But I am making some fantastic nails inspired by the guy who said, “I think having land and not ruining it is the most beautiful art that anybody could ever want to own.”  That’s what I think of sometimes when I look over Japan- even before these recent disasters. Gorgeous old wooden houses are destroyed for plastic pre-fab ones, giant billboards in the middle of verdant rice paddies, vending machines in temples, and minimal zoning- karaoke joint right next to a strip club right next to a hospital? Why not? I could go on and on about this one, but I’m going to finish up these nails and show them to you later today! It’s providing a fun challenge and something else for my brain to think about instead, at least!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to March 21 Update

  1. Zara says:

    American news just makes me want to roll my eyes sometimes…like how news stories are SUPER IMPORTANT and SENSATIONAL and CRISIS and WE’RE ALL GOING TO DIE one day and the next day? Nothing. :/ Anyway, I’m glad things still seem to be fairly stable, and I can’t wait to see your nail art!

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Yeah, the news really upset my family and folks back home. I mean, the Japan crisis is now below Wyclef Jean? The media works stuff up to a fever pitch and then moves on to the next thing. Yaargh.

  3. Arie says:

    Hi Jen, Glad to hear you are safe and sound, and so glad to hear that things are going back to normal little by little :).
    I saw your latest etsy store nail designs they are awesome! I love them!.
    Stay safe pls.
    xoxo.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you Arie! I’m going to be extra careful and I’m still not opening my windows and avoiding fresh vegetables and milk and tap water for a while. We may be eating food out of a box for the near future, but I don’t trust the food right now.

  4. Nixxy says:

    Good to see things are getting back to “normal”. What a load of asshats those suits are…

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Asshats indeed! If this doesn’t make the Japanese public angry enough to demand change, nothing will. It looks like TEPCO is going to get $10 or $20 billion USD from the Japanese gvt. and banks to rebuild. Yay. I think they should be strung up in the town square instead.

  5. Lucy says:

    I hate to hear all the information that comes out after everything is back to “normal”. So frightening. When I heard about the plutonium I was praying hard for you. What morons to let things go so far. Just to save face. Also so scary about radiation being found in food and water. Best thing to do is get busy with something else. (((hugs)))

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you, Lucy! I really appreciate it. We’re all afraid of what they’re hiding to save face. I had hoped that the eyes of the world would stay on the Jpana situation because at least then the events would be harder to cover up. Yes, there would be some sensational reporting to deal with but I can filter out the hysterical sources. With no media on site but the Japanese, I doubt we’re getting the whole story.

Leave a Reply

