March 17 Update

Since yesterday, a few things have happened:

1. The emperor addressed the nation publicly to express his concern. I believe the last time this happened was in 1945 at Japan’s surrender in WW2. Somehow his appearance didn’t make me feel better, it made me feel worse.

2.  Escaping radiation, fires…? who knows? The Japanese will swear to the end that nothing is going on. Here’s one of my favorite translated quotes from the TEPCO (Tokyo Electric Power, the plant owner) after an explosion and TWO fires at the No.4 reactor:

We can’t get inside to check, but we’ve been carefully watching the building’s environs, and there has not been any particular problem,” said Hajime Motojuku, the spokesman for Tokyo Electric. Oh, well, that makes me feel better.  I’m glad they have magical eyes that can see seeping radiation. Yay. If TEPCO says, “We might possibly have a minor issue here with some low-level radiation potentially seeping out,” I’m running for the hills.

3. Fuel rods are definitely exposed. This is bad news.  Some of them are uranium and some are plutonium mixes.  They tried to get a helicopter to spray water but the levels of radioactivity were too high.

4.  Some more embassies have advised citizens to leave Tokyo but the US is not advising it yet.

I’m painting some nails, listening to music (“Ball of Confusion” by the Temptations seems to be particularly apt) and staying calm. Most importantly, I am NOT reading the US news sources since they’re mostly hysterical. I know it makes for good ratings, but they need to ease off a little.  Oh, and Glenn Beck can die in a fire (but we all knew that anyway).

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to March 17 Update

  1. Nenaah says:

    Wow, as I watched about all of that mess going on in Japan I kept thinking, do i know anybody in there?? and YES! that girl from Nevertoomuchglitter lives there!!! I’ve been busy but it is OH so nice to know you’re ok :).

    I’m from Cancún, in México, and the same happens when there’s hurricanes (I’m by no means comparing the events at all) the local news are always more hopeful and calm while the news from outside my state or country are always so hysterical and scary! The only thing is my local news are usually much more accurate…

    Anyway, all I’m trying to say is that you should stay hopeful and calm as you seem to be so far. And I wish you the best of lucks !! Sunny hugs from my side of the world! ❤

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you very much- glad to hear someone has earthquake experience. I think the Japanese media is a little too calm but at least that’s better than the hysteria. I wish I was in Cancun right now!

  2. Kaybee says:

    Promise you’ll leave asap? I was thinking it might be hard to find an airport that is functional. Are people leaving in droves? You be careful ok? We’re all thinking of you.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Kaybee. Yes, a lot of people are leaving, either to Osaka, which is farther way, or out of the country. A lot of European airlines have stopped or limited service to Narita Airport, which serves Tokyo. Even under the best circumstances, it’s a 3 hour drive from where I live. We’d probably get evacuated by the US embassy if things got really bad. We’re keeoing an eye on the US Embassy in Tokyo’s updates, since they seem to have a good idea of what is going on. We’ll be careful, I promise!

  3. Pia says:

    Glad to hear you’re OK!!
    This whole information chaos is freaking me out, too… I have friends in Chiba and Tokyo and not knowing what is really going on with the radiation is driving me crazy! They say they’re safe, thankfully, but still…
    Are you sure there’s no way out of Tokyo? Maybe you can carpool with a few other people and go south…?

    And you know what is even worse? The political debate it started here in Germany about whether or not our nuclear power plants should be turned off. That’s right, reactors are exploding in Japan, nobody knows what the hell is really going on, people are being evacuated because of leaking radiation and they’re making a goddamn ELECTION CAMPAIGN out of it! Shouldn’t they be discussing about how to help with the reconstruction in Tohoku and fixing the nuclear plants instead?!
    Gah, politics…

    Have you tried the NHK news radio: http://www3.nhk.or.jp/nhkworld/english/radio/program/index.html ?
    It’s quite decent I guess… at least they don’t pretend everything’s cool and they don’t panic either…

    Anyway, take care! And thanks for letting us know what’s going on in Tokyo!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Pia,
      Thanks for the link! NHK new radio is pretty straightforward, more so than Kyodo or JNN. I’m disgusted that this is turning into a political issue. I’m still not against nuclear power, but this disaster in Japan should lead to thoughtful debate and improving safety procedures, not “Nuclear power is tooo DANGEROUS- shut down every plant on earth!” I hope something good will come out of this whole mess, but I’m afraid it’s just going to be used to promote political agendas both in and outside Japan.

  4. Chrissy says:

    Its horrible that politicians are using this as an excuse for their own agendas it makes me sick. They seem to forget the original cause of the reactors problems. Its not everyday that a earthquake and tsunami hit one after another, and still they are doing everything they can to try and contain it. But I am glad your keeping up with everything and hopefully you wont have to evacuate. But its good to have a plan just in case 😉

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Chrissy! Wer’re hoping for the best but getting ready for the worst. I hope people can put aside their political agendas as Japan rebuilds itself but I doubt it- there is no tragedy that can’t be politicized. But we’re holding up well here in Tokyo.

  5. Meeka says:

    I can’t even imagine how hard it is to be on mainland Japan right now. I’m on Okinawa and thankfully we haven’t been affected by any of what’s happening but it’s scary to think we could have been. I hope they get you out of there soon.
    Also, I agree that so many outside news sources sensationalize these events for ratings, it disgusts me. I’m not sure which side is worse though, outsiders for making it sound worse, or the Japanese for trying to downplay the problems.
    Stay safe!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Meeka- I wish I was in Okinawa right now! I’m also not sure which is worse- the downplaying or the horrible exaggeration. It makes it really hard to figure out what is really going on.

  6. Aunt Lizzie says:

    so glad you are keeping us updated and Happy St patrick’s day

  7. What I find troubling is how quickly the news sources turn the situation around to create scary scenarios that don’t even exist. I was on a business trip this week and went down to the hotel lobby for a cup of tea only to be greeted with this program/panel discussion on COULD IT HAPPEN HERE? Of course, they were talking about nuclear meltdown, because the most constructive and healthy thing to do, after all, is use one disaster as a jumping off point for speculation about a problem that doesn’t even exist. If only people could direct that kind of energy to what is really happening and how we can help INSTEAD of being so self-focused.
    Anyway, hang in there, you have friends all over the world thinking about you every day…hope that helps in some small way. 🙂

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks so much for your kind words.
      Yeah, I know all this end of the world gloom and doom makes for lots of good ratings, but it’s not helping those of us in the middle of all this! I’d be glad if all this prompted a safety review and ultimately helped to prevent another incident, but I think they’re just trying to use all this as a political agenda.

  8. Lucy says:

    I can’t believe that Japan is underplaying all of thisss. Everyone else is scaring the hell of us all. Take care please. I pray there will be a solution to this all.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Lucy! It looks like they’ve restored some electric power out there, which is really good news. They’re not out of the woods yet, but at least that’s a big step forward.

  9. Zara says:

    I’m very happy every time I see one of your posts and see that you’re okay….I hope it continues to be that way. And I’m with you on Glenn Beck.

  10. Libby says:

    I totally missed this post.. saw it as I was scrolling down in Google Reader. LMAO @ the Glen Beck remark. I was just thinking that earlier tonight when the BF momentarily switched over to Fox News fron CNN. I loathe Glen Beck as much as I loathe Nancy Grace. Ugh!

Leave a Reply

