Things Look Better in the Morning (Sort Of)

I’m not watching the news before bed anymore. In fact, I may just stop watching the news completely. I spent the night sort of tossing and turning, half-imagining I heard the evacuation siren. Things look better in the morning as they always do, but this is a scary time to be in Japan. It sounds like a bad disaster movie- earthquake causes tsunami, which causes nuclear power plant failure. Twice. Three times, plus a fire at another reactor.

Nothing new has happened overnight, according to NHK, Japan’s national broadcaster.  The fuel rods in the #2 reactor at Fukushima Dai Ichi are fully exposed, meaning the cool-down attempts have failed. They’re still saying it won’t leak any radiation, but who knows?  Update: Reactor #2 had an explosion on Tuesday afternoon. Another reactor has caught fire. The government said that “levels of radiation which could possibly be dangerous to human health are probably being emitted, with more expected.”

The only thing I can do is keep my windows closed.  Watching the live feed of the plant exploding will not do anything for my nerves. Most people I know are glued to the TV but it’s just making me feel worse. People here are quite calm on the surface- even right after the earthquake they just started walking home in a resolute manner with their company-issued helmets on, but I think they’re deeply unnerved.  It’s hard to tell. Nobody is talking, especially not to the foreigner.

I’m not fearing imminent nuclear death or anything. I have a deep mistrust of the Japanese government and the nuclear power plant operators. I do believe they would withhold vital news if it was bad enough to cause a panic. I don’t think there’s anything like that going on right now, but I don’t believe they’d be transparent if there was really bad news. That’s the worrisome part.  I mean, in Japan, the doctor won’t always tell you if you have cancer.  Seriously. Such a thing would be unthinkable in the West, but in Japan, doctors sometimes won’t tell you vital things about your own health if they think it will upset you too much.  That’s not just a wacky rumor about Japan, it is true.  It’s that mindset of hiding the upsetting truth that’s making me wonder about everything that’s happening.

So…I’m going to paint some nails. Yup. It’s ridiculous in a way, but in another, it’s good to take my mind off everything. I’m going to be donating all profits from my Etsy shop to the tsunami relief as soon as I find a good trustworthy cause to donate to. I know it would be much more efficient to donate the money directly, of course, but at least this way provides a little distraction for me!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Things Look Better in the Morning (Sort Of)

  1. Claudia says:

    I am glad to hear that you are well… although a little sleep deprived =P
    I also try not to see the news, if I am meant to know something, then I will know.
    Good luck with everything!
    Hang in there!
    And just know I will always be here if you need an open ear!

  2. lilynail says:

    i hope everything is good for you !
    i enjoy to see your news !!
    take care
    XOXO
    lily

  3. Rabbit says:

    It is really sad: ( i hope things will go better soon and there will be no danger from radiation.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      It looks like a third reactor had an explosion and a fourth one is on fire. The government did declare that radiation was escaping but said there was no danger to Tokyo.

  4. Krista Strong says:

    Hi Jen (and Joe!). I know Dave e-mailed earlier today, but you’ve been on my mind a lot and I was glad when I remembered I could check your blog. I’ve had a lot of people asking after you (well, all the people I talk to…Ferrari…my family…) 🙂 You’re in our prayers, take care of each other and keep us updated!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Krista! Thanks for keeping up with us. We’re doing OK but now that the Japanese government is has officially declared the radiation levels are harmful, I’m getting spooked. But you know Joe- he’s perfectly calm. As always. 🙂

  5. Nixxy says:

    I can’t imagine what it must be like, but it sounds like you’re doing the right thing, Jen 🙂 We’re all sending our best wishes xx

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Nixxy! I put on some Motown music, lit a stick of nice incense, and I’m painting the flashiest nails ever. And I’m staying away from the news!

  6. Lucy says:

    I would be one of those people glued to the TV. I’m sure it doesn’t help. I don’t know how anyone can cope in that situation. Thank God there are people who can. I’ve also been worried about those reactors. I don’t think I’d trust the government either. Now reading what you wrote doesn’t bring anymore comfort. That’s really crazy that the doctor’s won’t tell you bad news! Stay safe and paint your nails. What else can you do to keep calm? (((hugs)))

  7. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks Lucy! I’m actually feeling much better staying away from the news. I checked just long enough to see the third reactor exploded and the fourth was on fire, and the government officially declared unsafe radiation levels with more leaks expected to follow. Tokyo is not supposed to be in danger, which is good news since there are 36 million people in the metro area.

    So I’m painting some nails, listening to some music on Youtube while we still have power, and finally using that nice incense I got in Tibet. Oh, and I ate all the chocolate in my house. 🙂

  8. Halifax says:

    I’m one of those who stay away from the tv, actually, after the first day of news. I’m sorry you have to go through this scary time. I was telling my coworkers that Japan knows how to deal with disasters, but this time it was quite a big one. Keeping good thoughts for you. Hugs

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks for your kind words! You’re right- Japan is well-equipped to deal with this and has the resources to rebuild. We’re all a little spooked but I’m doing better than a LOT of people right now.

Leave a Reply

