Alive and Well

Hello everyone! Thanks for your emails and comments- I really appreciate it.

I am A-OK after yesterday’s earthquake. I was actually getting on the bullet train to head north to the hot springs when the quake hit. Of course all trains and subways were stopped right after, so I was stranded across town from my apartment with the bags I’d packed for my weekend trip. I walked about 3.5 hours and got halfway home, crashed out at an el-cheapo ‘love hotel’ and then managed get home this morning.  I saw some cosmetic damage to buildings but no total collapses and the trains were mostly running as of 7AM Tokyo time. It looks like the tsunami actually caused more damage than the actual earthquake.

My apartment looks OK. Some nail polish fell off my shelf, but no broken bottles. 🙂

Thanks everyone for your concern and kind words.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Alive and Well

  1. I’m glad to hear you are okay. I have some family in Tokyo, Shizouka, and Fujinomia. I haven’t heard from them yet :/

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Oh no!I hope you hear from them soon. I took a rather long hike through Tokyo yesterday since all transport was stopped, and the city looks pretty good. No collapsed buildings or anything. Let me know if I can help to contact your folks.

      • Thank you! My grandma has high hopes that we’ll hear from them soon. She tried to make an international phone call to Japan but of course phone lines are down. I’m sure everyone is safe and sound but it still makes us nervous!

  2. Jin says:

    Glad to know you are well. Thought of you while watching the news last night.

  3. Arie says:

    Great to hear you are ok Jen! :).
    Here the news are still showing all the damage :(.
    We keep praying for the injured and lost.

  4. Glad to hear you are OK!!!

  5. Jess says:

    i’m glad to hear you are OK!

  6. Nixxy says:

    Phew! Relief to hear you’re OK, Jen 🙂 All of us down here in Aussieland were a bit worried even though we knew you didn’t live near the epicentre! Stay safe xx

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Aww, thanks Nixxy! I was actually headed due north into the epicenter, but the quake happened just as I was boarding the train. I feel pretty lucky that I wasn’t there!

  7. I was just about to ask how you are! Glad you’re OK, honey ❤

  8. Zara says:

    I’m so glad you’re okay!

  9. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thank you- I really appreciate it.

  10. Lucy says:

    Thank God your all right. What a horrible thing to happen to the people of Japan. It was a real blessing that the quake happened before you got to your original destination. Have you been given more thought to moving from Japan? I know you wanted a change. Good time to do it. Away from earthquake and tsunami countries! (((hugs)))

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you Lucy! Yes, it was really lucky that I wasn’t riding the train on the coast when it happened. The earthquake was scary enough, I think I would have had a heart attack if I’d saw a tsunami coming at me. Maybe I’ll stay away from islands in the future…

  11. Kae says:

    So glad you are safe and sound! I’ll hopefully contact my family this weekend 🙂

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Kae! I hope everyone is safe and sound. Tokyo and areas south seem to be going on as usual- I even ordered a pizza from Domino’s yesterday. We’re all going to work on Monday. Parts north are a little more dicey. Let me know if I can do anything to help.

  12. Cheryl says:

    Whew thank God you’re all right! And very fortunately none of your belongings are damaged.

  13. Oh good! I kept checking to see if you were okay haha!

  14. Rebecca says:

    I’m glad you’re ok!!

  15. Karen Pieger says:

    Hi Jen – I’m so glad to hear you are ok. I haven’t seen you in years but have never forgotten about you. Stay Safe!! Love, your cousin Karen PS LOVE the nails!!! :0)

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Karen! Thanks so much for your kind words and stopping by- we’ll have to “meet” next time under happier circumstances!

  16. marisa says:

    i’m so glad you’re okay and that your place wasn’t damaged.

  17. Stephanie says:

    I’m so glad to hear you’re okay! I’ve been sending good vibes your way – thank you for your update. Yayy Jennifer!!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks so much for the good vibes- though we’ve been having plenty of bad vibes in the form of aftershocks. I’ll take all the good ones I can get! 🙂

  18. amanda c. says:

    Thought of you when I heard about it (like many people on this blog!) I’m so glad to hear you’re all right! 🙂 I’m sure it must be a nerve-wracking time. =\ Hope you stay safe.

  19. Hermione says:

    I’m so glad you (and your polish) are OK.

  20. Tera says:

    Glad to hear you are ok and your polish is safe as well. We just recently got power back in my area here.

Leave a Reply

