Laissez Les Bon Temps Roulez!- Happy Mardi Gras!

I just realized this morning that it’s Mardi Gras! I don’ t know how it snuck up on me like that- it’s definitely my kind of holiday, involving glitter, sparkles, rhinestones and beads. So in honor of all things sparkly and over the top, here’s what I’m wearing today:

These nails are long and unwieldy but perfect for Mardi Gras! In my quest to start using my rhinestones, I’ve made little bead “necklaces” out of gold, emerald and purple Swarovski crystals. The base is Zoya Julianne, and then I used a thin brush to paint stripes of China Glaze Emerald Sparkle and China Glaze Midnight Kiss. After that was done, I applied my rhinestones.

I swear I was going to paint a nice festive mask on the thumb, but as I was looking at some Mardi Gras photos for inspiration, I was mesmerized by all the beads.

So, I just wrote, “Gimme Beads!” on instead. What I really wanted to write was “Gimme Beads and Nobody Gets Hurt!” but there just wasn’t enough room for that. On this one, I just used my dotting tool to make gold dots over the purple and green swirls.

Happy Mardi Gras to everyone!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Laissez Les Bon Temps Roulez!- Happy Mardi Gras!

  1. Amanda says:

    Hello from Baton Rouge! Mardi gras is rollin’ around here! My nails have been purple green and gold for weeks! Love your rhinestones!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you! I’m jealous, I wish I was there too! 🙂 For now I’ll just have to listen to some Buckwheat Zydeco and wear my rhinestone nails.

  2. says:

    Just amazing!!
    Wonders, I want your nails!!!!

  3. Frankenstyna says:

    These are so cool! I love it!!!

  4. Rabbit says:

    Great! I Love them! Colours and RHINESTONES are nice:)

  5. Lucy says:

    Love those nails. Look dangerous! I like the beads. Gave you a chance to dip into your stash. Not all people know that “gimme beads” could be dangerous to them. They’d better hand them over!

  6. Cheryl says:

    I just heard about the earthquake. Are you safe?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Cheryl- thanks so much! Everyone I know is alive and well. I just got home after a long hike across town.

  7. Rabbit says:

    I thought about the same. I hope you are ok.

  8. Arie says:

    Hi Jen, I too hope you are safe, we watched last night the news live.
    I thought about you, our prayers and best thoughts for you and for all the people in Japan right now.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you, Arie! I am safe and well and now back in my home. I really appreciate your thoughts and prayers.

  9. Serikiyo says:

    I just heard about the earthquake and tsunami. I hope you and your man are safe! Please know that I’m praying for everyone effected! ❤

Leave a Reply

