NeverTooManyRhinestones

I have an addiction to rhinestones.  In fact, I don’t really want to let anyone know how many I have, but…..admitting I have a problem is the first step! I have found rhinestones in my pasta, in the keyboard of my laptop, and in my shoes. It’s time to face up to my powerlessness in the face of sparkles!

In fact, my guy (who happens to look a bit like Toki Wartooth) has begun saying this:

The above will only be funny to people who have watched the show, sorry. R-R-R-Rhinestones!

I have every commercially available Swarovski crystal available, most of them in multiple sizes. I store them in plastic pill boxes, seperated by color. Despite having a multitude of these things, I don’t use them often, except for nails I sell in my Etsy shop. The more I get, the less I want to use them. I know it’s sort of crazy.

I had to stop myself from placing yet another order to my pusher online rhinestone wholesaler today. There are a couple new colors out for spring and I need them. I bought a couple mini-packs of the new colors at the store when they came out earlier this month, but I need the sweet wholesale size bag.

So I’m trying to use them on blingy paved rhinestone nails, despite my natural tendency to horde them. Here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

An artsy shot!

I’m really trying to be good and use them instead of hording them like a magpie. I’ll see how that works out…

In other news, I have the brand new Spring 2011 TiNS collection to show you very soon, and there will be a contest where you can win. These are very hard to find outside of Japan, so this is your chance to get your hands on some of that glitter!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in NTMG Original Nail Art. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to NeverTooManyRhinestones

  1. Rabbit says:

    I Love rhinestones. I also have some collection and its very hard just to use them and not have them anymore.

  2. Rebecca says:

    Ooh I like the artsy shot!
    I love how rhinestones look, but if I were to put those on my nails they’d drive me nuts!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, they’re lumpy and protrude a bit, but sometimes ya gotta suffer for fashion! 😉 Definitely a special occassion look for sure!

  3. Amandaom says:

    I have a problem with beads…
    I have so many different gemstones, natural stones, plastic, glass, metal… and they are all neatly organized and color coded in plastic boxes in a rolling suitcase ;_;
    but i love them…

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I also love beads. Actually, I love pretty much anything shiny. Unfortunately apartments in Japan are pretty small so I have to control myself as best as I can and not buy all the beads I want to.

  4. says:

    OMG I love it!!
    So cool!

  5. crlsweetie912 says:

    Hmm, so you are holding out on the name of your rhinestone pusher…LOL! I love rhinestones, glitter and anything sparkly! So I completely understand!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      OK..it’s…it’s called Nailyasan, which roughly translates to “Respected Mr/Ms. Nail Shop!” Luckily they don’t ship outside of Japan as far as I can tell and the site is in Japanese. Trust me, ladies and gents, I am saving you from serious addiction.

  6. Zara says:

    I love both those looks!

  7. Chris says:

    Oooh Sparkly!

    I also have a few pots of crystals, I rarely use them. I prefer to hoard them! Love the arty shot.

  8. Lucy says:

    If I wasn’t such a clutz with nail art I would own all the crystals I could. I also love anything shiny and sparkly. I own tons of glitter polish and adore it. I don’t even mind taking it off. Your manicures are just stunning. Your arty shot is gorgeous! You showed great restraint today. I’m proud on you!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      We’re like magpies! If I was an animal, that’s what I’d be. Glad you liked the artsy shot! Oh, and I was good on that day but I’m planning on being bad and buying some sparklies when my next check comes in. I’ll try to behave myself!

  9. Jin says:

    You’re not alone on this one! I have a whole drawer full of blings but hardly ever use them. Oh too bad the online shop doesn’t ship over seas 😦

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Glad to hear I’m not the only one! No, the easy availablility of rhinestones here is dangerous! I can’t stay away…..

  10. Aunt Lizzie says:

    Love these blues and hope you are safe and dry

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Glad you liked the nails! Everyone is alive and well, though we had a nice crosstown hike when the transportation stopped.

  11. Minta says:

    Have you ever used artbeads.com? They’ve got a fantastic range of Swarovski, ship internationally, and you can buy per bead so you can get just what you need. I find it’s good for detering the hording impulse when you’ve got a project that needs a little something and other places just have packs. 😉

Leave a Reply

