Snow Cone Nails

I hope everyone had a nice Valentine’s Day! Mine was pretty mellow- made some chocolate fondue and relaxed. In Japan, the ladies give chocolate to the men in their lives, not necessarily their sweethearts. In fact, there’s a custom of ladies giving “giri choco” (“duty chocolate”) to bosses and superiors in the company.

What do the ladies get? There’s a phony sort of reciprocal holiday in March called “White Day” in  which ladies get underwear or jewelry (but not from the boss, one might hope).  I may make a “White Day” set of nails with some frilly underthings on them just to be strange, but we’ll see if I have the motivation when the time comes.

For now, I have a totally unseasonable set of nails to show you. It actually snowed in Tokyo earlier in the week. It didn’t even last the day, but it was perfect Snow-Cone type snow, which led to….you guessed it, snowcone nails. I know these would be much more appropriate for summer, but the idea just popped into my head. Hey! It’s summer Down Under at least.

The secret ingredient in these was some tiny acrylic “ice crystals” used in making the ever-popular fake dessert in Japan. People here love to make phony desserts out of felt, clay, pom-poms and even painted wood. I’m not quite sure what that says about the national psyche, but it always makes me hungry.

The little plastic ice crystals didn’t stay on, despite a good heavy topping of Seche, though. I first painted the nails white, outlined the paper cone with metallic silver polish (Color Club What A Drag) and a small brush. From there, I painted the tops of the snow cones. Finally, I did the blue background and then piled on a coat of China Glaze Fairy Dust for the silver sparkle.  Since it is winter, I added a little tiny 3-D clay snowflake on the middle finger and thumb.

Then came on the ice crystals. I had to put newspaper on the floor and sprinkle it on the tops of the snowcones carefully. I just pushed any stray bits back to the top where they belonged. The whole thing got a good gooey layer of Seche and it looked great until I started losing ice crystals. Still, it was a fun look for an afternoon- just like the weird random snowstorm.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Snow Cone Nails

  1. Joice says:

    These look like so much fun! I once used some hexagons on the tips of my nails and I had to coat them with such a thick top coat I had to scrape them off my nails xD

  2. buzzwheedle says:

    These look yummie, gonna try those sometimes, when it is summer overhere. I have so many glitters, but I always forget them.

  3. Lucy says:

    These are adorable. Strange to give the men the chocolate! I’d love to see some “underthings” nails! That should be fun.

  4. lilynail says:

    so cute !!!
    i hope you have a good valentine day too !!

Leave a Reply

