Random Musings on The Past Year

I’m hanging around JFK airport waiting for my flight to depart tomorrow morning, so I have some time to do a little blogging! I’ve been thinking back on 2010 and the year went really fast. I was fortunate enough to keep my job, but I know many people weren’t.  I hope 2011 will be the year that the economy recovers, since I’ll (probably) be leaving the Far East this year and I need to find a job somewhere! I hope my next job won’t involve a uniform with a nametag and a baseball hat, but you never know.

Some things I’ve learned this year:

1. It’s seemingly impossible to mix a black glitter jelly nail polish where the glitter really shows- I’m thinking of a black version of China Glaze Ruby Pumps. Maybe someone else can, but I haven’t been able to yet. Then again, neither could Deborah Lippmann (remember Funky Chunky?)

2. Don’t rely on your GPS to get you anywhere, bring an old fashioned map just in case. You may need it after the GPS takes you to the middle of nowhere for no apparent reason. Don’t ask me how I know this. (Hint: it’s why I have time to blog right now!)

3.  Reality TV just might be America’s worst export ever.

4.  There is no downside to bringing your own toilet paper with you, especially while travelling. A single tissue can sometimes make a lot of difference!

5. Everyone needs quiet time. The more impossible you think it is to fit in your schedule, the more you probably need it.

6. Don’t go to the Chinese restaurant buffet just before closing time.

7. Don’t bother with any topcoat but Seche Vite or Poshe.  Just my personal opinion but those work like magic for me and both are cruelty-free. Seche will always be my favorite. I’ll stop using them if they sell out like OPI and Essie but that will be the only thing that could get my giant 8 0z Seche bottle away from me. Nubar and Orly are also cruelty-free and have some very popular topcoats too if you find Seche doesn’t work for you.

Hmm, I’m pretty sleepy for now but I’ll think of another three tidbits of advice to round out the list. For now, I’m wishing everyone a safe and happy New Year!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Random Musings on The Past Year

  1. Zara says:

    TOTALLY agree with the Chinese buffet comment. Eurgh. As for a black-based red glitter jelly, try Piggy Polish Just Before Dawn if you can find it (they have them at Ulta). It doesn’t have large hex glitter like Bad Romance, but the glitter definitely does show up.

  2. Silva says:

    Nice advice 🙂 I so wish for a black jelly glitter, that would rock.
    Hppy New Year to you too 🙂

  3. Lucy says:

    Someday I think you’ll come up with that black jelly glitter. The best reality shows are The Amazing Race and Survivor. I also like So You Think You Can Dance and Dancing With the Stars. The rest is awful. I agree with the rest of your thoughts. Have a wonderful New Year.

  4. Nora says:

    I loved Seche for months but it just didn’t wear well on me; the whole nail of polish would crust up and peel off in one sheet, it was really weird and frustrating. I’m in love with INM’s Out The Door, but I can’t find anything online to see if they test or not, do you maybe know if they do?

    Happy 2011! I absolutely adore your blog, it’s one of my favorites. ❤

  5. Brandi says:

    a little bit of fan art (blog header?) thanks for sharing all of your creativity! happy new year!

  6. Beth Elaine says:

    Where did you hear about this OPI business? Their website (and PETA 2’s website) still says that they’re cruelty free.

Leave a Reply

