Got the Christmas Blues

I want to apologize to everyone for not posting…I hate to be a downer but I’ve got the blues. (And not the glittery kind that can be easily wiped away with nail polish remover!)

So, in no particular order, here’s what’s going on that’s making me such a bad blogger as of late:

OPI was bought out by Coty, a known animal tester. Goodbye OPI. Our relationship is over. Nice knowing ya. Earlier this year, Essie was purchased by L’Oreal, another company that tests on animals.  Boo! I wasn’t a crazed Essie fan since baby pinks and creme reds put me to sleep, but it’s too bad about OPI. Oh well.  There’s still Color Club (vegan too!), Orly, Spa Ritual and China Glaze.  But I’m still disappointed.

I’ve been having great success with my Etsy shop (over 600 sales and counting- thanks to everyone!) but making nails wreaks havoc on my own manis as I have to scrub off all the polish and other bits that wind up all over the place. It’s been a blast to sell on Etsy and I won’t be stopping that but it’s left me with less time and desire to do my own nails.

It gets dark at 4:30 here. I feel so draggy and awful, after coming home from my day job, all I want to do is flop on the couch and do nothing.  Blah. But summer is nice and light, but awful for polish drying.

Just…blah. I love Japan but it’s really wearing on me these days. I don’t have any language problems anymore but it’s hard to make real friends here and it can be very isolated, even in a big city like Tokyo. It will soon be time to pack it in and leave (sometime in 2011) but I have no idea what comes next. Wherever I wind up, I’m sure it will be glittery.

I always get the Christmas blues, they pretty much roll in like clockwork. I think about all the people I love who are gone, for one reason or another, and it makes me feel melancholy. I know a lot of folks feel this way, especially during the holidays.

But…there are some bright spots and I’m trying to keep my sense of humor intact. I had a contest with my boy to find the worst holiday songs in existence. The goal was to find a song so awful that the other person couldn’t take it and had to turn the song off. No outside research allowed, either. We did find that YouTube is a trove of awful holiday cheese. Since I’m in sort of a dark mood, I’ll share the results with you:

1) Christmas Shoes. Ugh. I know some people love this awful, schmaltzy tearjerker, but I just hate it. Hate hate hate. Kid, go hang out with your mom. What are you doing in the shoe store?  This song is just so darn…manipulative. The worst part is, they actually made a movie out of it. Barfola.

2) Little Saint Nick by the Beach Boys. Just….no. But then again, I’m not a real Beach Boys fan, probably because I had to endure them constantly when I lived in Hawaii.  I actually once rear-ended someone when the Beach Boys came on the car radio. I took my eyes off the road to turn the dial and….bang. I blamed the accident on them and Rhonda but my insurance company wasn’t having any of that.

3) Anyone who does overwrought vocal gymnastics (I’m looking at you, Mariah Carey). Yes, your range is impressive. Do we have to hear it in its entirety on EVERY SINGLE WORD?

4) Dominic the Italian Christmas Donkey. You will be humming the “hee haw hee haw” part for ages after listening to this.  Why? It’s not particularly festive and it doesn’t really make sense. At least not to me.

5) Santa Baby. Even Eartha Kitt can’t save this one, but the Madonna version is especially wretched. It’s so creepy and such a weird blend of feigned helplessness and scheming bitchitude, you expect them to handcuff Santa to the bed until they get what they want. While wearing a feather boa teddy- but they’re ready to cut Santa wide open unless he hands over that deed to the platinum mine. And the pouty baby doll voice….there is just nothing good about this song.  At all.

So share with us your least favorite songs and maybe we’ll all have a laugh or two.

All that aside, I’m wishing everyone a happy and safe holiday season, wherever you are and whatever you might be doing. I’m going to the East Coast from the 16th till Christmas, then spending New Year’s in Japan.  See you in 2011!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Got the Christmas Blues

  1. Rachel says:

    Dominic the Italian Christmas Donkey is blasted by a frat at my sister’s college 24/7 from the day after Thanksgiving until Finals Week. You can hear it everywhere on campus.

    *Hate*

    I hope you have a Merry Christmas, the blues just suck.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      jiggity jig hee haw hee haw…I would go mad. If I assaulted the responsible persons, no jury in the country would convict me. And thanks for the Christmas wishes- same to you! 🙂

  2. hatterlet says:

    We always listen to Bob River’s parody Christmas- things like ‘The Restroom Door said Gentleman’ and ‘Chipmunks Roasting on an Open Fire’. I do have to say, though, his redneck trailer trash CD was a little much, even for me. I had to turn it off when it got to ‘Frosty the Pervert.’

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Frosty the Pervert?! Yikes. I’m very fond of Weird Al’s Christmas songs but at least they’re PG rated. But I might check out the Chipmunks Roasting on an Open Fire” song.

  3. Lucy C Pinto says:

    I have the blues something awful this year. I still haven’t sent out any cards. Wish I didn’t have to. The place is decorated thanks to my bestie and roomate. I don’t think I put out anything. She trimmed the whole tree . I injured my knee twice within a month. I already can’t walk that much and this is even worse. I’m also not sleeping by getting restless legs. I’m missing everyone also. I agree with you about all the songs except for Dominic the Donkey. The reason is he says the name Josephine which was my Mother’s name and I don’t hear it anymore. That’s the only reason I will listen to it. I know whatever you do you’ll be sucessful at it. Sorry to dump my misery on you. (((hugs)))

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Aw, Lucy, come on over here. We’ll have some hot cocoa together. I’ll even play Dominic The Donkey if you want. 🙂

      You spread a lot of cheer to all us bloggers with all your thoughtful and kind words during the year. I hope you feel better in both body and spirit very soon!

  4. Deniz says:

    I really hope you’re feeling better soon. I know how it must feel like, being all isolated and losing desire to do your hobby, etc. Take care =) ❤

  5. Serikiyo says:

    AHAHAHAHA! I knew Dominic the donkey would make the list! For some reason, this was the first year I’ve ever heard it and it’s gotten stuck in my head more than any other song this season. Not THAT bad though… 😛

    We love our Christmas songs over here, not very many that I dislike. But my mom CAN’T STAND “Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer”. She actually gets angry when it comes on. 🙂

  6. Rebecca says:

    I’m finding it hard to be “in the Christmas spirit” this year. I just feel rushed and stressed. I hope both our moods improve soon!!

    I agree with your opinion of Christmas Shoes, I can’t stand listening to it. Other bad holiday songs include The Holiday Season by Andy Williams (so annoying!!!) and any christmas song sung by Beyonce or Destiny’s Child (although I don’t mind Beyonce singing usually, but she ruins holiday classics).

  7. linda says:

    Grandma got run over by a reindeer? I mean what the heck? What kind of person would think that up? Yeah, and a movie. Really. As a grandma of 4, three boys one girl, I have a hard time believing that this is a song they would want playing on Christmas.

    P.S. My daughter calls me the Glitter Fairy
    Love from CT

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi there! I’m sorry I missed you this visit- hope to see you and the newest member of the family next time I’m in town!

  8. Hermione says:

    May I suggest Little Altar Boy?

Leave a Reply

