The Christmas Creep?

And no, I’m not referring to that guy who always gets drunk and far too friendly at the company holiday party.

What I mean is, does Christmas merchandise seem to get stocked earlier and earlier as the years go on? Christmas stuff is out at the same time as Halloween stuff, it’s creeping in earlier and earlier. Are they going to start putting up the holiday goodies in July in a few years?

I’m in Japan, where Christmas is not really celebrated (some people exchange gifts and there are Christmas decorations, but it’s not considered a holiday), but things seem to be out of hand even here.ย  By Nov. 1, all the Christmas decorations were out and “Last Christmas” by Wham! was playing everywhere. This song is considered essential holiday listening in Japan. I had never actually heard it before coming here. I have now heard it thousands of times.ย  Yuck.

The leaves aren’t off the trees yet in Tokyo and it’s still warm. I’m just not in the holiday mood. I should probably start doing holiday nails, but it feels a little too early. What do you guys think? Are you in the mood for the holidays? Is the Christmas creep getting you down? Is 7 weeks of Christmas music on the radio too much?

If most of you are ready to rock some holiday designs, I’ll start doing some. ::hums ‘Last Christmas’ then collapses::

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The Christmas Creep?

  1. elizabeth says:

    i think it’s really effing creepy, honestly. is it a form of brainwashing i wonder?

  2. Zara says:

    I really don’t like the “Christmas creep”…I love Christmas, but really? It’s not even halfway through November! And in the States, I feel like Thanksgiving gets shunted to the side. I’ve promised myself that I’m not going to do any Christmas manicures until after Thanksgiving. I may wear some polishes from the holiday collections, but that’s it.

  3. Deez Nailz says:

    YES!!!!!!!!! here in central Canada, all the X-mas decor was being stocked out a week before Halloween….

    It’s too much. I love decorating for both holidays, but there needs to be some space between.

  4. Tierney says:

    I live in the States and work at Macy’s and they have had their holiday lane thing set up since the beginning of October and last week they started playing Christmas music. I love Christmas but it feels too early. I don’t want to be sick of it before it’s even December!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, getting sick of it before December rolls around is the worst part of Christmas creep for me. Instead of anticipation, it’s dread.

  5. UM YES…please don’t even get me started, because I could go on for like three days straight.
    In the stores, there have been lights up since before Halloween and they’re starting to bust out the music and christmassy cardboard cutouts.
    Ebay is fully decked out for Christmas, and even amazon (which has always been quite sensible) is talking about some CHRISTMAS SHOPPING. I went into CVS and the manager was rocking a Santa hat. I wanted to grab him and shake him and be like “Helllooooo it’s not even Thanksgiving yet! It’s like 60 degrees here, and some leaves are still anchored pretty firmly to their respective trees. What are you doing?!”

    Winter is clearly taking its sweet time…I don’t see why people feel the need to rush on ahead of it. Sheesh. *end rant*

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      A Santa Hat?! You should have ripped it off his head and stomped on it. That’ll show him to promote the Christmas Creep!

  6. chairokuma says:

    Christmas was once a “looked-forward-to” holiday. Now, I prefer a “no-people” holiday.

  7. Serikiyo says:

    I’ve been in the Christmas spirit since halfway through October! lol Then again, it helps being here in chilly New York. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      That’s true, Christmas in NY is always magical. And cold. At least some folks are enjoying the super-extended holiday season!

  8. Lucy says:

    I’m not even ready for Thanksgiving. What happened to that holiday? You don’t see anything for it. It’s getting ridiculous. Bad enough there is Christmas in July!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I’m afraid it’s going to be Christmas All Year, the way things are going! Just don’t put any Santa hats on the turkey. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. Zippy says:

    I love Christmas, but it’s way to early! Bath and Bodyworks and Macys has the whole she-bang out. But seriously, I hate that song.

  10. Jackie S says:

    Yes, it does! I saw Christmas items on the shelves before Halloween! I refuse to do anything Christmas related until after Thanksgiving/My Birthday (within 2 days)..its standing rule with me..Hee hee ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

