Dia De Los Muertos Manicure

Hello everyone! I hope you had a great Halloween with tasty candy, not granola bars or boxes of raisins.  Ugh! I always hated getting those. My favorites were Peppermint Patties, Reeses Peanut Butter Cups, and Twix bars. Unfortunately, there is no Halloween in Japan except for a few nightclub parties, so I’ve resorted to buying my own candy. Not quite the same but it’ll have to do for now.

But today is Dia De Los Muertos, or Day of The Dead. I think it’s celebrated primarily in Mexico- someone correct me if I’m wrong. I love the artwork, the brilliant colors and the fun festival vibe. So of course I tried to capture it in a manicure!

First, I painted the skulls on with white polish. It’s just basically a lightbulb shape, or an oval with a rectangle at the bottom. Then I did the blocks of color and the stripes, followed by the dotting. Then Iapplied one coat of Seche and added the clay flowers for the eyes on the middle finger and the decorations.

I got some of those nail art pens with the brush/pen tip on Ebay and they are a disaster.  Thick, glunky and I am sure they are chock-full of banned chemicals- they smell awful.  Nubar makes the same type of pens but of course they are quite pricey. I may have to invest in some of those. But a tiny brush also works well. Just make sure you have a good brush cleaner and don’t let the polish harden on the bristles.

Happy Day of the Dead, everyone!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Dia De Los Muertos Manicure

  1. This manicure is gorgeous, so much detail!!!!! I love it!!!!

  2. anna P. says:

    what opi polish is that?

  3. Zara says:

    This is so cool! I had never thought of doing a Dia De Los Muertos manicure before. Awesome!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Zara- it’s loads of fun and not too difficult because it’s supposed to be free-spirited and fun so it’s OK to color outside the lines, so to speak. 🙂

  4. Serikiyo says:

    I’ve been dyyyying to do a Dia de los Mertos manicure, but I could NOT find any inspiration. Very well done. 🙂

  5. OMG THIS IS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! Gosh this must be the prettiest mani I’ve seen in a while, wow!!!!!! Great job!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I’m so glad you liked it! 🙂 And coming from someone at Pimp My Nails, it’s twice as flattering! 🙂

  6. Arie says:

    Gorgeous, very colorful and fun mani.
    And yes we celebrate “El dia de muertos” in Mexico with a big celebration beginning Oct 31 til Nov the 3rd.
    I also did a “All soul’s day mani” (with little sugar skulls)^_^.

  7. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thank you, Arie! And I just checked out your All Soul’s Day mani and it’s fabulous!

  8. hellcandy says:

    WOW these are stunning! You have such patience and your nails look incredible 🙂

    Thanks so much for all your Tokyo nail gradation help, Found it at Loft in Shibuya.

    Hope the weather has cooled a bit now.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I’m so glad you found what you were looking for and that you liked the mani. I hope you had a fab time in Tokyo!

  9. Marie says:

    Oh that’s very cool!
    x

  10. Lucy says:

    Your so talented. Love all the designs on your nails. I had to buy my own candy also since I don’t have any kids! We used to gets lots of kids coming around. Now it’s not even 15. So disappointing.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Oh, that’s too bad! At least you didn’t have scored of overgrown teenagers roaming around, though. I hope you got candy that you liked in case of leftovers! 😉

  11. Arie says:

    Thank you Jen! 🙂
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

