Thriller

This manicure came about by accident and was inspired by an Ebay purchase. I often make elements for my nail art like 3-D flowers and other kinds of baubles, but I also buy stuff online occasionally. This time, I bought some polymer clay nail art canes. Usually, it’s fruits and flowers in a stick and you cut slices with a razor blade, all random and sold in a bunch.

Fruits, flowers…and WHAT?!

Is that a teeny tiny Michael Jackson in the lower left hand corner? Yes, I do believe it is.  Black hair, red Thriller jacket,  two dots for the nose…this is a Michael Jackson nail art cane indeed.

So the Thriller/MJ manicure was born. He seemed like a man who appreciated glitter and rhinestones, so here it is:

Index: Teeny MJ head, some real Swarovski crystals. Middle: Moonwalkin’ feets with lighting bolts. Ring: The scary monster eyes from Thriller.

But wait! There’s more!

The glove-inspired pinkie nail. I used OPI Alpine Snow Matte for the base and stuck SS5 and SS7 Swarovski crystals.

Finally, the thumb has not one but two MJ heads and handpainted silver zippers. To do the zippers, I painted a thin silver line and then used my dotting tool along the edges  in the same base color  (China Glaze Vermillion) as the red to break up the line.

So it’s not technically Halloween, but I think Thriller is a pretty good theme for this time of year.

 

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Japanese Nail Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Thriller

  1. Zara says:

    Haha, that’s awesome! I love the rhinestone nail.

  2. Lizzie says:

    too cute

  3. murai says:

    LOVING the pinky ❤

  4. Mariana says:

    Wow. A full MJ tribute on your fingertips. Love it!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you! I need to think up some more images for the other hand so I can wear a full set. Maybe the other hand could be young Michael Jackson.

  5. Rebecca says:

    OMG!!! I love the glove-inspired nail!!! And Thriller totally means Halloween for me 😛

  6. Serikiyo says:

    Omg, you’ve got to be kidding me! Who would imagine to make a MJ stick? lol 😄

  7. Jessi says:

    There is no way that could be anything other than MJ! And this mani is absolutely fabulous, you are so creative!

  8. Deniz says:

    how did I miss out on this one!!!!! I’m a hardcore mj fan =) awesome!!! =D

  9. Lucy says:

    Love your interpretation! Your so immensly talented.

  10. Romy says:

    Love your nail design.
    But, are you shure this is Michael Jackson? I think this is a Russian Doll…

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Romy!
      You’re right- that’s possible! But the nose made me think Michael Jackson. Maybe it was for a Michael Jackson Russian doll!

  11. Ariane says:

    Hahahahahahahaha! Finding the MJ stick with the flowers…that really has to be a ‘WTF’ moment!
    Love your art!

Leave a Reply

