Necklace-Inspired Mani

Whew! While it’s always cool to go on a trip overseas, there’s always so much to do after returning home!I think I’m mostly caught up on work and such but I keep feeling like I’m forgetting something.

Due to super hot and sticky weather here in Tokyo, I haven’t been doing too much nail work aside from finishing a couple of custom orders for the shop. My nails were bare almost all last week! The horror!

But…I do have something a little fun to show you. Besides for being a polish junkie, I also like to make jewelry and paper crafts. Back in the day, I wanted to go to art school and I probably should have done that instead of going to university, but heck, maybe I’ll go someday. For now, my creative streak will have to manifest itself in little ways. But my apartment looks like a craft store and I will make it a point to get a workshop in the next place I live, because I need it!

Anyway, here’s a set of nails that was inspired by a necklace I made a while back with turquoise, antiqued copper and some old clear Czech glass beads.

The necklace:

Sorry the photos are a little dark.

My coordinating mani, on nail tips:

Mostly, I just wanted to keep the art in the same color family as the necklace. I originally planned to paint some filigree on but it was just too darn sticky to fuss over today. The blue base is a mix of 3/4 Japanese dollar-store turquoise with OPI Dazzle Me mixed into the base for the shimmer. The OPI is a good polish for frankening as it adds microshimmer in an almost clear base to the mix, but it’s discontinued. It looks like my OPI days are over, since it won’t be sold online and there is no way whatsoever I will pay  the Japan price of $22 for it. Essie has also become a no-go since it was sold to L’Oreal earlier the year, so I’m on the lookout for new brands to replace those.  I’ve been sort of exploring SpaRitual and Nubar lately, which are both vegan and cruelty-free, but they are around $8 each or so.

OK, all that aside, I used some Fauxnad for the shells and a warm caramel copper shimmer (TiNS “The Free World”) for the dot accents. The sea horse on my index finger was done with one of the China Glaze Romantiques (forgot which one since the names are pretty generic) but they all work well.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Necklace-Inspired Mani

  1. Zara says:

    Pretty necklace and very pretty nails!

  2. Rebecca says:

    Great job on the necklace, it’s lovely 🙂

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks, Rebecca! There’s tiny beads in my computer keyboard, I found a rhinestone in the pasta the other day, and there is glitter in all hte nooks and crannies of my apartment, but I still can’t stop making stuff! I also do a lot of paper crafts like cardmaking and scrapbooking. I swear my next place will have a dedicated workshop so I can try to contain the creative clutter!

      • Laynie says:

        Boy, do I know what you mean. Crafting/making art/whatever isn’t a want for me, it’s a need. If I’m not making things, then I get really, really grumpy, and so do the people around me unfortunately. Besides, art is cheaper than therapy!

        But yea, you never know what you’ll find around here. Rhinestones are evil, they find their way into EVERYTHING!

  3. Lucy says:

    Gorgeous necklace. You should have those plus earrings in your Etsy store. You have a good eye for color and design. You do beautiful work no matter what you do. Love the nails.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Aw, thanks Lucy! I just dabble in jewelry and paper crafts. I did set up an Etsy shop for my paper goods, but I haven’t put anything in yet. The nails keep me busy enough!

Leave a Reply

