More Weird Japanese Kit-Kats

It’s hard to believe, but every now and again I put away my brushes,  step out of my nail-cave and wander around Tokyo looking for Japanese oddities.  I have no weird  nails to show today, but I do have some equally bizarre Kit-Kats.  With all this inspiring unusualness around me, it was only a matter of time before I also turned weird(er). But it’s led to some….interesting art, so I guess today’s post will celebrate the strangeness of Japan foodstuffs.

And yes, I tried every one of these Kit-Kats so you don’t have to! Even the wretched ones.

jasmine tea kit kat

Jasmine Tea Kit Kats. Not so bad, fakey Jasmine flavor but not inedible. 6/10.

Mango Pudding Kit Kats. The scary Cheez-Whiz color was a little off-putting, as was the bogus mango scent. Still, not awful and I acutally ate the whole thing. 6.5/10.

Plum Soda Kit Kats. OK, why not? Phony flavor, but it did taste like it was supposed to. 5.5/10.

Sakura Matcha Kit Kats, aka Cherry Blossom Green Tea.  The Japanese use cherry blossoms on special sweets and for a kind of seasonal tea. They taste nothing like cherries- they taste like shiso leaf, which I don’t think is a good thing. I have no real Western taste to compare cherry blossoms to.  Points for realistic flavor, even though I don’t like that flavor to begin with.  5.5/10

Royal Milk Tea Kit Kat. Yum! A delicious novelty Kit Kat?! It doesn’t really taste like milk tea- but rather the powdered Japanese version of it. There’s a kicky little aftertaste in both the real thing and the Kit-Kat that I’ve never identified- not sure if that’s good or bad, but it is distinctive. 9/10.

And here’s where things really started to turn sketchy:

“Sports Drink Flavor.” What kind of a treat is that? Kit Kats with Sports Drink Flavor? Does it have the electrolytes that plants crave? It tasted exactly like what you’d expect, which is to say hideous.  One nibble of this was enough! 3.5/10

Now, here’s some candy designed by the devil himself: Apple Vinegar Kit Kats. Vinegar…chocolate….wafer…why? It smelled like dirty socks and tasted strongly of-wait for it- vinegar.  I even like vinegar- I put it on my French fries and on dumplings and I cook with it, but it doesn’t belong in Kit-Kats.  This is probably the worst candy I have ever eaten.  Heck, it’s probably the worst candy that anyone’s ever eaten. 0/10

So there we have it. I actually had a nightmare that I ate an Asbestos flavored Kit Kat, so that tells me I need to step away from both work and Kit Kats.  I was working as a transalator for an  environmental engineering company at the time, and my days were filled with rockwool, asbestos,  soil contamination and Kit Kats stuffed into my mouth as I worked late into the night.  I do believe that Asbestos Kit Kats would be a step up from the Apple Vinegar.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to More Weird Japanese Kit-Kats

  1. Kae says:

    The ume ones are calling my name!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I’m a big fan of ume too- even umeboshi, which a lot of foreigners aren’t crazy about. But the soda aspect of it…..hmmm. At least they were worlds better than the wretched Apple Vinegar monstrosity!

  2. JenB says:

    omg – you are so funny! This article is hilarious!

  3. Deez Nailz says:

    This was fascinating, i loved seeing the other weird chocolate hybrids you posted before.

    i am sure Brawndo kit kats are in our future.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I was hoping someone got the Idiocracy reference- it was kind of a silly movie but there were some parts that really rang true!

  4. anna P. says:

    Just in case someone was wondering why there are so many strange flavored kit kats in Japan, “kit-kat” sounds similar to good luck in Japanese. And cherry blossoms don’t taste anything like cherries. The flowers do taste more like shiso in cherry blossom tea which is a common thing to drink.

    I hope that i don’t sound condescending or anything, just any extra info in case someone was wondering.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yes, you’re definitely right! Kit Kats sounds like きっと勝つ in Japanese, which means, “(we’re) definitely gonna win!” or “Victory!” They are very popular with lawyers and students taking exams, from what I’ve seen here. Like an edible good luck charm. 😉

  5. Rebecca says:

    Thanks for sharing this! I really want to try those Royal Milk Tea Kit Kats… the vinegar one had to be made by someone who would never eat a chocolate bar… gross.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I have no idea what they were thinking- the Kit Kat crowd and the “I’m drinking vinegar for my health crowd” don’t really mix too often. Yeech!

  6. thiamere says:

    lol!
    there are even red beak soup, soy sauce & soy bean paste flavored kit kats fyi..
    😄

    i have to say that it is weird, but then they are pretty interesting,ne?
    ^_~

    i think they release new kit kat flavors every now & then in japan..i just can’t remember what season they do..i think it’s spring time..?

    some of the flavors really do sound weird & stomachache-inducing, but i have to admit that their marketing strategy is very effective in making sure that people will keep on buying kit kats,ne?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yes, there are all sorts of Kit-Kat abominations out there. But I think a lot of people don’t actually buy them- I see a lot of folks taking photos in the store, but they’re smart enough not to actually eat them (unlike me).

  7. Lucy says:

    Was that vinegar supossed to be like a sweet/sour taste? How horibble. I know that there’s apple vinegar that you mix with water for health & diet. I wouldn’t want it in a candy bar! Only the milk/tea sounded like I might try it. The rest no way! Thanks for your trying out all those flavors. I’ve always been tempted to order some. I once found a web site but didn’t order anything. Maybe in the future I might. Hope your stomach is all right!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      They tasted rather like regular Kit Kats dumped in vinegar. I think it was their attempt to make a “healthy” Kit Kat. Yeech!

      Some of them were decent, but it will be a couple weeks before I can even look at another Kit Kat. I have about 6 new flavors in my kitchen cabinet to try.

  8. mersalia says:

    some of those actually sound good
    kyoto has green tea kit kat that you can only buy there
    and those are pretty good! 😀
    ahah i love japanese food 🙂
    oh and do you know about the different flavored ramune drink
    i think there’s curry, wasabi, and some other weird ones lol

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Oh, yeah, I’ve tried those ramune drinks. Some are more tasty than others for sure! There is also curry-flavored toothpaste. Yikes!

  9. Alice says:

    funny! they are a little strange (not in the bad sense) 🙂

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Try the apple cider vinegar- that one is strange in the Bad Sense fore sure! I have an Aloe Yogurt one coming up that might be the worst ever, but I’m still recovering from the last round of sampling.

      • Laynie says:

        Aloe? ALOE??? Is aloe even a food?

        I’m not even sure what to say, other than what has been seen cannot be unseen, and what has been tasted DEFINITELY cannot be untasted. You poor thing… eating asbestos Kit Kats in your dreams. You may need therapy after this.

        You have my sympathies, and many, many thanks for sharing this. Thanks for taking one for the team! 😀

  10. April Brooks says:

    I am endlessly fascinated by the Japanese Kit Kats! Someday I will have some of my own! I can’t believe there is an Apple Vinegar flavored one!

  11. Jackie S. says:

    I love Japanese candy and snacks and I think this post was the best! I’d try them all just to say I did..hee hee!

  12. Deniz says:

    you always crack me up =DDD

Leave a Reply

