Roadkill Franken

Nope, don’t worry- it’s not as disgusting as it sounds! I was trying to make a pink shimmer with black glitter suspended in it, but it wound up looking like messed-up pavement. The pink was pretty sheer so I was hoping the black glitter would suspend nicely in it, but no luck. There is a reason this color is not commercially available. Yeech!

Black glitter is very tricky- I’ve been trying to do a true black jelly with black glitter in it for ages but no success.  Either the base is too opaque and then the glitter gets all globby (like that disastrous Lippmann Funky Chunky) or it’s too sheer and just looks like bruised nails.

So, I decided to add some yellow stripes to make them look like  a road:

I used my Color Club Art Club striper. If I had more time, I would have painted a little highway sign on one of the nails.  But this was a bit of a rush job on my way out the door.

If you haven’t had enough fail today from my wacky franken, check this out:

Baobab flavored Pepsi. Something tells me this didn’t make the cut in any country besides Japan.  It tastes like…I don’t know. If you boiled sweat and a cardboard box that had stored slightly rancid almonds and then carbonated the mixture, it might taste like Pepsi Baobab. Though, I must say, this is not the nastiest Pepsi Japan creation I’ve tried. Cucumber Pepsi has that one in the bag.  Mouthwash + phony cucumber flavor + salt water (?) is not a good combination.

Ah, wacky Japan, how I love thee. But please, can we get some novelty flavors that actually taste GOOD?

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Roadkill Franken

  1. Kayla says:

    I actually really like this franken! it reminds me of a speckled egg! I would buy this and wear it! 🙂

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Woah! Kayla, you are a brave girl. I don’t think this is going to be a big seller for any company, so you just might have to make it yourself. 😉

  2. Lucy says:

    The cucumber Pepsi sounds revolting. I’ve never heard of the other flavor. What is it supossed to taste like? I wish that we would get all the flavors of the KitKats like you have! I like this franken. Really interesting. I can’t call it pretty but I do like it. Love your road manicure, cute!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Oh, Lucy, you should have been a diplomat! I have not heard of Baobab either- I know it’s a tree in Africa, but I have no idea why it’s been used as a soda flavoring. But then again, we do have birch beer and root beer in America, so maybe it’s not as odd as it sounds.

  3. Renee says:

    seriously, i love the color!

Leave a Reply

