A Happy Ending

Aaand, today is a good day. My cousin Adam got married to a lovely girl named Taylor- congratulations to you both! Paling in comparison to that but still exciting- there is a happy ending to my scam story! Read the last few blog entries if you’re not up to speed.

I got a money order today from That Person Who Is Technically No Longer A Scammer, so I guess I can’t say I’ve been scammed anymore! It was 6 months after the purchase, 4 months after the chargeback, but I got my money. The contest is still on, though, so feel free to share your scammy stories for a chance to win some nail polish.

If you have been the victim of a online payment reversal scam and you/the recipient are in the US, here’s a quick outline of what to do (and what not to do!)

1. Watch for people making huge orders/purchases/swaps in a quick period of time.Β  I got hit at Christmas time, when it’s not an unusual pattern, but just keep an eye out.

2. Save all your shipping receipts and make sure you send high-value merchandise, swaps, etc. by a trackable mail system. Otherwise Paypal will not even consider your case. If the scammer won’t pay you back, go straight for legal action. Mail fraud is a felony that is taken more seriously than I expected.

3. Contact the police or the local District Attorney where the scammer lives. They may treat mail fraud as a “theft by deceit” or on a charge akin to passing a bad check. Try and find other people who got scammed and type up a statement and sign it, then send it to the DA.

4. Contact the US Postal Inspection Service. They investigate cases of mail fraud. Better still if you can give them the names of other victims and a statement signed by as many victims as possible. The case is initiated entirely online and updated information can be submitted that way too.

5. Contact the Internet Crime Complaint Center because they handle all sorts of online crimes.

6. Write a letter to the legal department of the payment processor that was used (Paypal, Google Checkout, etc.) Tell them the transaction was fraudulent and see if they will issue a partial credit. Another victim in my case did this and got a partial refund.

7. Write to the owner of the home where the goods were delivered (aka The Scene of The Crime). The owner should be on record because it’s public information. Let them know what their tenants/family members are doing. No homeowner wants their address to be associated with felony mail fraud. Be sure to include the delivery date of the items, copies of feedback received, and a copy of the chargeback information. Spell the case out clearly for the homeowner, as they also have an interest in getting the situation resolved, plus they often personally know the scammer.

8. Contact the online venue where the items were sold or swapped and present your case. They can shut down accounts and block IP addresses. Unfortunately, it’s easy to swap or mask IPs but it’s better than nothing.

A combination of as many of these as possible will go a long way toΒ  getting the situation rectified. One other thing that I learned from working for lawyers: Do not threaten any legal action that you are not absolutely 100% prepared to follow through on. These people have a sixth sense for who they can sucker and exactly how much they can get away with. They can also spot a bluff pretty well. Time is usually on their side, so get going fast once it’s clear that the issue will not be settled outside the legal system.

All’s well that ends well!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Happy Ending

  1. Lucy says:

    I’m so happy that you did get your money back. I also pray that this person is prosacuted. There are probably many people this idiot did the same thing to. Someone needs to put a stop to this.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Oh, there are over a dozen really mad people who are pursuing this legally. I informed the agencies that I got paid back but they can still prosecute. It’s like robbing a bank- even if the robber pays back the money, they still go to jail. But at least my blood pressure is somewhat back to normal.

  2. libbeh says:

    Happy to hear you had a happy ending to your scam story! I did too.. and oddly, after I posted about my scam story on your blog! The buyer canceled the claim. (But It was probably a coincidence.)

    Thanks for these tips. I’ll be sure to save them in case I encounter another future scammer.

  3. amanda c. says:

    Yay! I’m glad it got resolved for you, at least. When the others pursue, I bet that girl gets a nasty shock that theft and deception aren’t easily fixed by apologies or simple restitution. Either she has no conscience, or she’s really naive. If it’s the latter, I’d almost feel sorry for her, except that there’s no excuse for what she did — robbing and manipulating people, especially people who have spent a lot of time, energy, and creativity on the things she stole. If she had any decent feelings at all, she’d realize that. I can see where she’d have gotten away with this before — looking at your steps, the pursuit of justice is so complicated! I bet a lot of people (myself included) would be tempted just to let it lapse and forget about the money that got scammed away, unless a lot of it was involved or they wanted to protect others from this sort of person. But I’m glad she’s paid you at last. πŸ™‚

  4. Alice says:

    πŸ™‚ I’m happy about this πŸ™‚ I think that you feel like up in the air due to happiness πŸ™‚

  5. Jackie S. says:

    I’m glad you got your money! πŸ™‚

  6. prissy says:

    congrats to your cousin ! and to you for getting a money back! yes, do expose the scammer πŸ™‚ seriously, i hate people who scam like unsuspecting people constantly out of their time, effort and money. Like, if you don’t have $, don’t buy. why scam others, right?

  7. Pandora says:

    Thank you so much for this informative post! I recently started selling online, and after reading about your troubles I realized I had to make changes to the way I do business. I had no idea such scams were possible, and would have been an easy target for such unscrupulous individuals.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Well, I hope it can help someone out! Just be extra careful with large orders, weird requests and anyone who tries to pressure you, and make sure to keep your reciepts. Paypal scammers do exist but at least there are some agencies willing to deal with them! Best of luck and I hope you meet only nice folks online!

Leave a Reply

