Radioactive Necco Wafer Brown

This is my first franken in a while, and I’m stuck on a name.  The closest thing I could come up with was those old-fashioned Necco Wafers. Anyone remember them? I’m not so old that I was around in their heyday, but they were sold at country stores and old-tymey sort of candy shops. There was a brown wafer in there of undeterminate flavor (actually, I don’t think any of the flavors were identifiable), but it reminds me of the color of this franken. The “radioactive” part is because the franken has a green flash to it. I guess radioactive items don’t always glow green, but I think that more accurately reflects the color!

All that fascinating background aside, this color was an accident. I was looking for a tawny berry brown. I added 2 drops of Orly Pink Chocolate (a deep dusty pink) to 10 drops of OPI You Don’t Know Jacques, a mushroomy brown. The resulting color was extra unflattering to my skintone, so I added a bit of clear polish to the mix and some Fyrinnae pigment in Jade Ghost (I think). This lightened it up and provided the green flash.  Still not flattering but an interesting color, at least.  Somehow I don’t think this one is going into mass production anytime soon.

Adding pigment or eyeshadow to nail polish can really change the color a lot, but if the polish is too opaque, the shimmer can get lost. Try thinning the polish with a bit of clear first to make it more sheer so the shimmer can show through.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Radioactive Necco Wafer Brown

  1. yourhermione says:

    I love it. I dig those funky colours and I actually looove those chocolate Necco wafers.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I’m glad someone else knows what I’m talking about! That flavor was supposed to be chocolate? I was never quite sure…

  2. Shanna says:

    Oh my goodness, I love this. I’m not entirely sure it would be flattering on my nails either, but I’d sure as hell give it a shot. And that green flash of color is gorgeous.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I’m glad you liked it! It definitely got a few stares when I took it out, but that’s never stopped me before. 😉

  3. I normally lurk on blogs, but I just had to post to say that this is one kickass colour! I love it! It’s like MAC’s Club eyeshadow, only lighter – it has the same brown base with green duochrome. LOL!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks for stopping by and letting us know what you think! 🙂 You’re right, it does look like the MAC. I don’t own it but I’ve seen swatches.

  4. Lucy says:

    I really like this shade. It’s very different and I love the green flash. Good name for your franken. I always loved Necco Wafers. I could never figure out what that brown flavor was supposed to be.

Leave a Reply

