TiNS- The Silky Night

My favorite all-time blue glitter:

It’s called “The Silky Night,” and it’s a gorgeous midnight blue with two kinds of deep blue glitter. This is two coats with one coat of Seche, but it was fairly smooth for such a dense glitter.

In not so great news, Essie is going to be sold to L’Oreal, according to the news.  Essie didn’t test on animals, but L’Oreal does.  This means I’ve bought my last Essie, but then again, I have my share of Essie  streaky pale pinks and reds, so I should be set for a while.  Bummer, though.

But have no fear- there are still some great cruelty-free brands: SpaRitual, Nubar, OPI, MAC, Color Club, China Glaze, NYX and a bunch of others! OPI was acquired by a company that does test on animals (Coty) in 2011. MAC is owned by Estee Lauder, which has resumed animal testing for “regulatory compliance” in 2012.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Nail polish, Store-bought Colors and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to TiNS- The Silky Night

  1. Ally says:

    Yay, another TiNS swatch! Thanks for taking the time to go through your collection. I’ve been making a (very long) lemming list since I’m visiting Japan for the first time in about two weeks (!). Do you have any suggestions as to stores that I should stalk for colours?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks for your nice comment- I hope you will have a wonderful time in Japan!
      One of the best places to find nail polishes are the cosmetic stores often found in the larger train stations (JR Shinjuku, JR Ueno, etc.) Some of them are called Cosme Store, It’s Demo, Champe De Herbe and IroMiNe.

  2. amanda C. says:

    Oooh I love that color. It really is like a starry sky!

    I’m glad, at this news, that I’ve never been that attached to Essie, but all the same, it’s such a shame!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I feel the same. Come on people, we should be moving away from cruelty, not towards it. At least it wasn’t my favorite brand going to the Dark Side!

  3. tess says:

    I haven’t been a big Essie buyer either, but I do like a couple things, like Matte About You. I suppose I should buy a couple of extra bottles…

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, grab them before they re-formulate it with rabbit tears or something…
      I have a couple bottles in my extras bin, but not because I knew Essie was turning over operations to L’Oreal. But most prices for Essie have gone to $8 online, so that alone me off. The price may be negotiable and I’d buy a shade if I loved it for $8, but the animal testing is non-negotiable for me.

  4. Lucy says:

    Very pretty blue with all that glitter. Love those Tins polishes. Wish they were here to order. Their glitters are amazing. I didn’t know about Essie. Maybe if enough people complain L’Oreal would change their ways.

  5. Le Sigh!!! So pretty I could stare at it all day long!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      It’s my favorite too, despite the nasty Smurf fingers I always get from it. It’s worth it.

  6. Kacee says:

    I’m pretty sure China Glaze tests on animals. They’re not on PETA’s cruelty free brands list. Just saying.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks for your comment! However, they are cruelty free. I have a written statement from them and their parent company saying they do not test. Since they’re not a usual drugstore brand, I think PETA may have overlooked them as they overlooked have other brands. An exclusion from the PETA list doesn’t necessarily mean the item is tested on animals.

  7. Marina Miladinov says:

    Hello, I am delighted to have come across your blog! I love nail art and always try to make sure that I never buy a single animal-tested products! I am especially happy that you’ve enlightened me about the change in OPI’s policy, I am certainly not going to spend any more money on their products!!!
    I’m interested in your information on Konad, though?

Leave a Reply

