Tozai Line Blue

Well,  the last remaining color from the Tokyo Metro Line is a medium sky blue named after the Tozai Line.  Tozai means “east-west” and it goes through an area called Takadanobaba, which is near a major university. It’s got a lot of restaurants and bars that are priced cheap for the college crowd. I’ve eaten Cambodian, Burmese and other really exotic cuisines there. I even saw drunken Burmese karaoke at one of the restaurants- quite a sight! Unfortunately, I once got surprised at a pub there with an entire deep-fried baby sparrow: beak, feet and all. Although I’m usually pretty brave with food, I didn’t eat it.  Lesson: Be careful when ordering the “Daily Appetizer” in Japan.

This one was actually very easy to make. I used Orly Blue Collar, which is a pretty close match by itself, but a shade lighter and brighter than the Tozai Line.  First, I tried to add white, but that got the color too chalky and pale. So I finally went with 7 drops of Blue Collar to 3 drops of China Glaze Bermuda Breakaway, a medium cornflower blue that is one of my favorites. It darkened it just a little and moved it to a cooler blue.

Excuse the white smudges- I was Konading earlier.

Left: Blue Collar. Right: Bermuda Breakaway.

In a 50/50 combination, these might look a little like a darker version of Essie’s new Lapis Of Luxury, a sort of periwinkle blue.  I’m going to try and franken it, thought it always  looks different in different swatches. I am a sucker for periwinkle- it’s the color I never pass up.  Essie just went up to $8 online from $4, and quite frankly, I don’t think it’s worth that much. I had a hard time forking out $4. Then again, only about three shades per year appeal to me, so it’s not like it’s going to break the bank.

So here ends the Tokyo Metro Collection. Sorry there was a break in the middle due to time and technical difficulties. I hope you enjoyed it!  I had a fun time with it- but now I need some GLITTER!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Nail polish and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tozai Line Blue

  1. My husband spent a few years in Japan before we met and I enjoyed sharing this series with him. He could name the line colors, but believes some have been added since he left…that was summer of 1996

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      That’s cool! The Ooedo, Fukutoshin and Yurakucho New lines are probably the ones that were built since then. Did he enjoy Japan?

  2. Lucy says:

    Beautiful shade of blue. Love all of the frankens you make. I think I would have gaged big time when that sparrow was served. I’ve heard about that being eaten. Also some other birds that are eaten with a cloth over your head. They are completely consumed. I guess they don’t want people to see them eating a tiny bird with bones and all. How revolting! I’m not a vegetarian but I’ll eat what is considered normal cuts of meat. That’s just revolting.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, I wanted to run away when I saw the poor birds. Surely the beak and feets can’t be good for your digestive system. Ouch! Maybe the birds can have their final revenge that way. Though I wouldn’t have minded if they had deep-fried some pigeons instead. They just did a mega poop on my laundry again (it’s hanging on the balcony, Asian-style).

  3. Kittynail says:

    I absolutely love that nail polish color! Super pretty!

    Visit my blog too if you want 🙂

Leave a Reply

