Blame the Macrobiotics

Well, I was planning on frankening, but macrobiotics got in the way.  How? Let me explain…

I decided to try the “house special” at a  new vegetarian restaurant near my office.  What did I get for $13? One hockey-puck scoop of brown rice, 5 beans, 3 inch-long slices of cucumber, a teaspoon of seaweed, one piece of boiled carrot with tofu mayonnaise, and a teaspoon of an item I couldn’t identify, plus a gulp of miso soup.

I’m pretty small and don’t pack away a lot of food, but I was HUNGRY after.  So I got a giant ice cream at Coldstone Creamery, and then I ate a greasy, wonderful chicken doner kebab for dinner.

Image: Daily Telegraph

For those of you who don’t know the wonderfulness that is a doner kebab: slow roasted chicken with veggies and hot sauce. Yum.  I’m sure it’s not particularly authentic, but is is delicous. Between that and the ice cream, I was in no mood to even move after arriving home!

So I have no franken for you today, because I got all immobile after I pigged out on junk after the macrobiotic “lunch.” Ha! Take that, healthy eating!

But I did make these over the weekend, and I am in love with them:

I don’t know when I’m going to have a tropical-themed party, but this is what I’d wear for it.  I think my subconcious is planning a trip to Hawaii!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Blame the Macrobiotics

  1. Kirsten says:

    Doner kebab is the perfect after-clubbing-food! Yum!

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    I know! I already want another one! 🙂

  3. Sylvia says:

    Those nails are so cute! Love!
    ~Sylvia

  4. Sylvia says:

    Hey! Wait a minute! I just noticed those hands have no polish on them and hair on their wrist. I really hope that’s not you. 🙂
    ~Sylvia

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, I didn’t go for my daily waxing today….nope, it’s just an image from the Daily Telegraph. LOL!

  5. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    This response is because I know you’re all dying to know about my creative process! 😉

    Yes, as the commenter pointed out, I absolutely use things that I didn’t make myself (3D clay, nail decals, etc) as elements in my nails. I would never claim otherwise. However, those elements need to be put together in an artful way, usually over a base color I have mixed myself. There’s placement, color matching and general design to think about. What looks good? How can I put it together? Which colors will complete the look? In addition to elements that I have not made myself, I do a lot of original painted art- you can see tons of examples on the blog and in my stores.

    Here’s my position on the machine printed nails- there is no creativity involved. As far as I know, all the designs are pre-set in the machine. So isn’t that just like using my printer to print out a postcard of a Monet and then claiming it’s “handmade?” There was no designing, deciding where to put elements, nothing like that. It’s just a technical process with no art behind it. I personally will not use a nail printer because it robs me of the creative process. Finally, I just don’t like the look of the pre-prints- they just don’t have the look of quality to me- but to each their own!

  6. Lucy says:

    Beautiful nails! Love the green and the flowers are adorable.

Leave a Reply

