Gettin’ Back On The Glitter Trail

Hello all, and thanks so much for standing by!

I was planning to migrate the blog to my own site and ditching WordPress as they don’t have all the features I want. However, migrating has proved to be more trouble than I expected, and I don’t have the time to devote to it and add new material at the same time. Originally, I had hoped to merge my blog, Flickr and online store into one site, with a big swatch library of polishes (both franken and ccommerical), but I’ve discovered a few things:

1) Flickr is pretty dang slow and unwieldy.

2) Making, hosting and managing your own store is way tougher than I imagined.

3) I got no computer skeelz.

So I’ll stay here for now, but I may try to make my own glittery omni-site in the future, especially if I meet some folks who are willing to trade computer assistance for manicures.

I am starting a new store in addition to my Etsy store.  Etsy is supposed to be only vintage and handmade items.  However, it’s slowly becoming like Ebay, in that it’s getting flooded with junk, things that are clearly not handmade, and scammers with several shops who give themeselves obviously bogus great feedback.  And so it goes, a good idea gets kind of corrupted over time.

So thanks for your patience and I’ll be back with some fun stuff- finishing up the Tokyo Metro Collection, some Easter nail art, and a cool giveaway, plus some new Fauxnads to show off.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Gettin’ Back On The Glitter Trail

  1. Kae says:

    Can’t wait to see it all up and running! Good luck 🙂

  2. nikita says:

    I run my beauty blog on wordpress on my own website plus I use Flickr to host my pictures. It’s not that hard, actually! If you need help, I’m happy to offer it!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks a bunch! Do you have an online shop on the same site too? That’s where I was mainly running into trouble. I want to have a Flickr slideshow that shows random photos on my WordPress blog for starters. From there, I also want to show my Flickr albums so users can hover over the thumbnail and see the photo pop in a new window, but I think it’s impossible without Flash. Maybe.
      Any advice or expertise would be appreciated!
      Also, I want to get Google Friend Follower, but it seems WordPress won’t allow it.

      • nikita says:

        No, I don’t have a shop online.

        There are Flickr plugins that can show random pics from your Flickr account. I use this plugin on my blog:

        http://tantannoodles.com/toolkit/photo-album/

        It can also show your albums too. It will show the pics in another window or jump them over to the Flickr album on your Flickr account. It’s up to you on how you want it to be set.

        You can use Google Friend Follower. It works for WordPress, just not WordPress.com. You do know there is a difference, right? WordPress.com won’t let you add stuff since they are hosting for you, as opposed to you getting your own domain, web hosting and using the WordPress download from WordPress.org.

        I have the Google Friend Follower working on my beauty blog that runs on WordPress. It’s hosted on my own domain which I got web hosting for. This is the plugin for that:

        http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/google-friend-connect-integration/

      • nevertoomuchglitter says:

        Thanks so much, Nikita! I really appreciate your wisdom. I did know the difference between self-hosted and WordPress hosted but not much more than that! 😉
        I’m going to try the Flickr plug in. My photos are huge and unwieldy in Flickr because I used a good camera, but I’m still working out if I want to post huge high-res photos or try to do smaller ones, which is an extra step in the process.

        Thanks for the plug-ins and info!

      • nikita says:

        When you use the Flickr plugin, it will give you the option of what size you want the image to be displayed. You can choose a small 100×100 square version, thumbnailed version and then some larger sizes which lead up to 500px size. When someone clicks on the image on your blog, it will take them to the Flickr page.

        I use both point/shoot and DSLR but I always resize my photos with photoshop/lightroom so the file size won’t be so big that it takes a tad longer for people to download the images when viewing on my website.

      • nevertoomuchglitter says:

        Thank you again! I did mess around with that before (linking the Flickr, I mean) but I didn’t really want to link to my Flickr site as it’s horribly disorganized and the privacy settings on some photos need to be changed and some albums re-organized. I don’t have anything kinky but I’m sure nobody want to see photos of me on vacation, getting attacked by a peacock (true) or any of my other misadventures. I can def. resize the photos with no problem.

        I really appreciate the help and hope you don’t think I’m too computer challenged. I’m feeling pretty old….

      • nikita says:

        I think your best bet then would be to just upload the pictures to your website (through WordPress or in folder outside of the wordpress install). WordPress has a built in photo album thingie that you can use. It also will create a thumbnail for you if your pics are too big.

        I suggest that you create a test blog with a wordpress install (one that could be like http:/yourdomain.com/testblog and mess with that before you actually create your real blog. This way, you can figure out how things work without making a mess on your index page.

      • nevertoomuchglitter says:

        Thank you very much! In additional to my digital doofdom, my data really needs to be sorted. I just need a few days to sort through it all, put it into albums, and delete the junk. I need a spring-cleaning on my hard drive! I really appreicate your advice and I’ll be trying it out soon!

      • nikita says:

        If you have any problems with wordpress then, you can just email me! Be glad to help!

Leave a Reply

