Hanzomon Line

Today’s color is unfortunately not as accurate as I would have liked, but I didn’t have enough time to tweak it properly! The Hanzomon Line is a medium purple color, but my franken is darker than I wanted, more of a raisin than a true purple. There are actually very few true neutral purples on the market- I can only think of 2: RBL Mismas and China Glaze Grape Pop, but I don’t own either of these. I believe the difficulty lies in the blue- it can’t be too dark as mine was, but too light yields a lavender.  I  might re-work it using a neon blue and get better results but so far I haven’t found the magic purple alchemy just yet.

This was made with 2/3  OPI Thrill of Brazil, a red creme, and 1/3  Essie Mesmerize,a blue creme.  I think a neon blue will do a little better. Unfortunately, believe it or not, I am all out of medium neon blue. I had a bunch of Color Club and I used it all frankening! Neon pigments tend to loose their brightness when mixed with polish, and very few pigments are acutally true neons to begin with.

Well, at least I can still enjoy a nice purple! Not a very springtimey color, but it actually snowed a bit here in Tokyo yesterday, so I’m definitely still working with winter shades for now. Brr!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hanzomon Line

  1. T.T. says:

    Essie’s old color called bermuda shorts would be a great way to get this color, its almost identical

Leave a Reply

