Chiyoda Green

Today’s subway line/franken color is the Chiyoda Line. It’s a nice, serviceable neutral green, rather like cartoon pine trees on map legends.  Unfortunately, it is not the same color green as Yoda, which would have been a nice play on words. Yoda is more Shinjuku green.

I hardly ever use this line, so no fun stories about it. But I do like the color!

This seemingly simple color took three tries for me to get right.  To mix green, it’s yellow and blue, but it wasn’t quite that simple. Most yellow polishes have a good amount of white in them. When I mixed Misa Happy Happy with my blue creme (China Glaze Bermuda Breakaway- this color is great for frankens), I got a light green due to the large amount of white in the pigments. I tried a couple more yellows, same problem. There aren’t a lot of pure yellow cremes on the market- a lot of them are shimmer or frost.

So, I decided to give a neon yellow Color Club a try. I think it’s called Yell-Oh, but I’ve forgotten exactly. Bingo! 1/2 of Bermuda Breakaway and 1/2 neon yellow yielded a nice Chiyoda green.

Try mixing some neons in with other colors- the results can be surprising! By the way, I recommend Color Club as a good, cheap vegan polish that’s not tested on animals. It’s now available on Transdesign, as well as some other online retailers.  And no, I didn’t get paid by either company to this! Vegan polishes like SpaRitual or Nubar are great too,  but can be rather pricey and harder to find. Color Club is 1/3 the price of either of those and has a wide color range and good formulas.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens, Nail polish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chiyoda Green

  1. Kae says:

    I’ve been loving all the colors so far, this is such a creative idea for your collection! This green is really awesome!

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks Kae! Glad you liked it. 🙂

  3. Deniz says:

    this is a gorgeous green! I liked it so much =)))

Leave a Reply

