Getaway FAIL

We went up north to some hot springs to relax a little- I was hoping to see some snow and relax in the outdoor baths. I had something like this in mind:

(Image courtesy of Takaragawa Onsen.)

Instead, we wound up at a place smack-dab in the middle of an industrial zone. There was a chemical factory, zinc mine, bottling plant and lots of other factories around.

The view from the train station. Nothing says “relax” like the Shin-Etsu Chemical Factory.

Also, the lovely Toho Zinc Mine:

That thing was HUGE!

While the hotel was pretty nice and the food was tasty, the scenery was the pits. With all the beautiful hot springs in Japan, I recommend giving Isobe a miss.

Not exactly the backdrop I had in mind for my relaxing getaway…but it gets worse. I got the flu. It’s probably my own dang fault because I didn’t get a flu shot, but I am so miserable right now. I started feeling sick on Saturday night, and by Sunday, I knew it was the flu. I’m beginning to feel somewhat human again, though every part of my body aches. Including my hair, which I didn’t know was possible.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Getaway FAIL

  1. Oh no!!!! I hope you feel better soon 🙂

  2. Stephanie says:

    oh no . . . ): how unfortunate

  3. Aunt Lizzie says:

    Is this in Hokaido Juan was asking?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Nope, both the gorgeous hot springs in the top photo and the one we actually went to are in Gunma Prefecture, which is near Nagano. Hokkaido does have some gorgeous hot springs too but it’s a plane ride from Tokyo.

Leave a Reply

