I’ve Been in Japan Too Long

Because, instead of giving long super-decorated nails that are covered in 3-D bits the side eye, I’m now MAKING them! I admit I bought a kit to make fake whipped cream puffs- basically white caulk and a frosting nozzle. There! I admitted it! I also bought fake clay pies and rhinestones shaped like cherries. I’m turning Japanese (cue up the song that every Japanese major grew to hate). The proof:

I made these for my shop, but for a moment I considered keeping them for myself.  This was the first time I ever had an urge to wear gyaru-type Lolita nails. It felt..ruffly. However, I came to my senses, realized I couldn’t work  if I wore these and I’m happy to say they found a lovely new home with an Etsy customer.

These nails below failed my quality control because the decals curled up too much, so I thought I’d try them on and take a photo. Rawr! I might not be able to do anything, but at least I’ll look like a sexy beast! (Just kidding, Mom.)

Below are a set of short design nails. I make a lot more of these than the long ones. A lot of people like the longs but would never wear them. The longer are more fun to design since there’s some more space to work with, but a lot harder to sell.  But these have a giant purple rhinestone heart on them- getting ready for Valentine’s Day!

I think because I’ve been designing nails lately, looking at Japanese nail magazines, etc. I’m slowly becoming de-sensitized to how weird Japanese nail art is.  Very few nails actually surprise me anymore and even nails covered in fake whipped cream and tiny bogus donuts are run-of-the-mill.  Even the pointy claws aren’t even that unusual. When you see something every day, it doesn’t seem weird….so please tell me if I’m getting overly wacky. I can’t tell anymore! One clear  line that divides the Japanese and Everyone Else: poo. The Japanese love poo. You can buy ice cream in a plastic toilet instead of a cone, golden poo figurines, keychains, poo paperweights…the list goes on.  No poo manicures- sorry Japan. Not going to happen.

But it’s odd, because I’m not really cutesy at all, but I’ve been making cute nails lately. Tons of them. And I enjoy seeing exactly how many pearls and baubles I can physically fit on one nail. I wonder if there’s some kind of subverted psychological issue that is luring me inevitably towards all things adorable. I tend to think it’s more Hello Kitty’s subliminal mind warfare.  She has no mouth, so she’s had plenty of time to develop ESP. I’m sure she has hypnotic powers of some sort.  That would explain her enduring popularity, while her twin sister Mimi has always had to play second fiddle. I betcha most of you didn’t know that HK had a twin sister, right?

The above statement may indeed confirm I’ve been in Japan too long. At the very least, I’ve been up too long. Goodnight all!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Japanese Nail Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I’ve Been in Japan Too Long

  1. Colette says:

    Maybe it’s just a phase =) I tend to go through them around holidays LOL, wearing designs on my nails that would normally horrify me if I didn’t qualify them with “well, this is for Valentines day so it’s OK”

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, the old “Holiday-Sweater with LED Lights” kind of thing…may be true! I guess the festiveness just went to my head!

  2. Tiffani says:

    I, too, am turning Japanese….love the art, the clothes and the nails….what shall we all do? (I sorta’ liked the song as a kid!) LOL

  3. LOL!! I knew it was just a matter of time before you got that dang whip cream! You know me, I love the over the top nails. I can tell how much better you are at decorating your nails than when you first started. You are really getting the hang of it and they just look fantastic! I really don’t know why people are fickle about decorating nails, I think nails are too fun to be taken that seriously 🙂 Keep up the good work and I am dying to see some nails with the whip cream!!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Oh Brooke, you’re leading me into (fake) sugary temptation!
      I think my aversion to nail decorating is more about what those nails represent: girly vain fluffchick who drops big $$ on appearance, which is the furthest thing from what I am. But my appreciation for nails as a tiny canvas is definitely growing. I think I’ll subvert the style and make it my own. Probably means some totally weird manis will happen, but practice makes perfect!

      You can TINT the whipped cream too…I may not be able to resist. Dang you, Japan!

  4. Annabelle says:

    That is one big rhinstone. Hopefully the biggest you own?? Hahaha. =] The Japanese nail stlye can be cute, but the whole ‘pointly cat claw’ nail look is not my thing.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I have some giant rhinestones! I even have a real Swarovski crystal that’s the size of a nickel! I just got it because it was so ridiculous!
      The pointy fetish nails make me nervous. I may try making a pair for the heck of it, but I can’t imagine wearing them!

  5. Annabelle says:

    Oh, do you read/ watch manga/anime?? Just wondering, been reading a lot of manga lately…

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I actually don’t…sometimes I do, but it’s brain drain as I go through the Japanese. English ones are not as widely available here! It’s fun once in a while but a lot of work!

  6. Lucy says:

    I love all the Japanese nail art. I really enjoy looking at it. I even like those pointy fetish nails. i just couldn’t imagine wearing any of them. If I wore false nails i would love to wear the long ones. The Lolita nails are really pretty. I don’t know all the different names of the types of clothing that’s worn. It’s fascinating to me. I’d wear your nails in a minute if I needed them. Sorry I don’t but I do admire your work.

  7. hey,
    this is a really cool nail art blog!
    I appreciate if u visit back my blog 🙂

    Best regards,
    Kornelia 🙂

Leave a Reply

