This Makes Me Sad

Well, ladies, if you’re over 115 pounds in Japan, you better hustle to the weight loss spa.

I know it’s hard to tell from the tiny ad I scanned in, but this ad is promoting  a Japanese weight-loss ‘spa.’  It’s the same woman in all the photos. She’s just under 5’5″ (166cm) tall and starts out at 114 pounds (left photos).  After 25 weight-loss “treatments” and probably hundreds, if not thousands of dollars, she’s 98.5 (44kg) pounds and she’s crowned the “Champion Weight Loser!”  You can’t really tell from the scanned photo, but she looks absolutely skeletal in her “champion” outfit.  I mean, at 114 lbs, obviously she was dangerously obese. Thank goodness she got to be under 100 pounds with the help of “treatments”  and is branded a “winner”…after all, she may finally be a medal contender in the Anorexia Olympics. The spa should have refused her service and sent her to a therapist if she thought she was fat at 114 lbs. How sad.

In other related news, I’m working on the Pigment Tutorial and it’s taking longer than I thought, but check back in a day or two. And ignore the forces that say you’re a champion if you look like a famine victim.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to This Makes Me Sad

  1. Elizabeth says:

    I hear more and more about Japanese culture and, though there are some good things…generally, they don’t value their women very much. Not a place I’d like to live, though my husband did in a prior life and he enjoyed it very much.
    The more I learn, the less I think I’d be happy there. This adds to my unhappiness. So I’m totally with ya.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yes, it’s tough to be a woman here. Women are still never taken seriously, and to be honest, they generally expect to be taken care of by a man. Sort of like 1950s America. I know plenty of grown women who still get allowances from their parents, sexual harassment is rampant, and there is only one woman in my company is a management position (vs. 15 men). Sad state of affairs over here.

  2. Rebecca says:

    That is so frightening!

  3. Kirsten says:

    44 kg?! Wow that’s insane!

  4. Arrianne says:

    Geez I’m mordibly obese, what at 5’5″ish and 130 pounds. I better go work my fat ass out.

  5. colormepinkenblue says:

    Hi! I’ve always been a lurker but I really wanted to comment on this. First, I love your posts on nail polish and living in Japan, I think they’re informative and cool. This ad does make me a bit sad but since I have family in Thailand, it did not surprise me that much. Thailand has pretty much the same outlook because the majority of people are thin (ex: a large in clothing size in Thailand is mostly the same as a small in the US). Thank you for you’re awesome posts and I look forward to your pigment tutorial!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment! I’m sorry to hear that things are the same in Thailand. I guess in a society where most people are thin, it’s even harder to be even a tiny bit larger.

  6. Milktan says:

    It’s so nice to see even foreign magazines promoting a “healthier, and more positive” body image for young women these days.
    Everyone wants you to have the body size of a child at 20 years old! 😦
    Which sucks for me because I can’t buy any clothes from Yes Style because most sizes are for women who look like 8 year olds who haven’t hit puberty yet! (No offense to those lovely, petite women out there!)

    It just makes you lose motivation to continue with weight-loss and healthy maintenance when they project stuff like this.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      It really is too much! 44kg is just not healthy- she had to have 25 spa “treatments” to get to that weight. I don’t know why designers make clothes for skeletons!

  7. Tiff says:

    Haha this reminds me of that time when I was flicking through Nail Up and saw these ads at the back. I saw something that made me choke then laugh. This is the story I told all my friends who think i’m deathly skinny and should eat more:

    “So I saw a weight loss ad in a Japanese magazine. There was a picture of a girl who was 160cm and 48kg. That was the ‘before’ picture. The after was 38kg.”

    It’s like this in Taiwan too though, the skinnier you are the more beautiful you are supposedly.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      38kg?! She’s going to lose even more weight when she has a heart attack. That’s obviously mental illness like Karen Carpenter. How sad that women are throwing away their lives for nothing. And, of course, to everyone but themselves, they look terrible.

  8. Brooke says:

    Yipes! I think I posted something like this a long time ago and I remember you commenting on it. That might be what started our great friendship though, so yipee for that!!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, I am seeing images like this all the time in Japan, just usually I’m not disturbed enough to mention it. But I’m glad it started our friendship! 🙂

  9. Doo says:

    I’m so glad you’re bringing this up! As beauty related bloggers we too have a media to share the image of beauty. This image the spa ad promotes is so unhealthy and so wrong. Hard to believe there would be any muscle left after that weight-loss… I remember weighing as much as this girl (due to pregnancy and vomiting) and I felt so weak! My arms were like twigs that I felt would break if I sneeze and I thought I looked like a skeleton. Yet I got plenty of compliments for being so skinny!?!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Doo, I can completely believe it! We’re programmed to believe that underweight = beauty. I hope you gained the weight back and returned to health!

  10. Volyund says:

    Does she even have her period being this skinny? Most women stop having their period once they are below 15% body fat. That’s not healthy.

    If Japan and Korea want to alleviate their demographic problem, the government should work hard to push for a really healthy body image. Otherwise you have weight related infertility.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      She must be well below 15%. She honestly looks like a famine victim. But they have a lot of sexist TV shows and ads (as you know!) here that just pound these super-skinny images into everyone’s heads. The natural body shape of the Japanese is pretty thin, but even here there are a lot of sturdy girls with a solid build who will never attain that superthin shape. no wonder nobody’s having babies here!

Leave a Reply

