Pink Identity Crisis

Sometimes a few drops of color can make a huge difference in the color of a polish. I’m not really a pink person (though I have been showing a lot of pinks lately!) but I do like purples.  Here is the shade where pink just steps over the line into a purple tone. I’m not sure my camera got it just right, but I checked my real nails against a Pantone color chart.  (Pantone is a great resource for color- they make color palettes for industrial use and they have bazillions of color variations. I could get lost looking at them, but of course I’m a color nerd.)

Oh, and I smudged my middle finger, so I stuck a bow on it.

This color would have been a Barbie candy pink, because I made it only out of  red creme and white creme. But with a few drops of Color Club Bizerk Turk, it became purple! (Sorry, I should have done before and after photos. Apparently, pink has an identity crisis, so when it’s exposed to teal, it changes into lavender. When candy pink is mixed with black, it turns a hippy-esque brown clay color.  I guess Barbie pink is easily influenced by whoever’s around! 😉

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pink Identity Crisis

  1. Doo says:

    I love this shade! It’s so serene! I must try to mix one up for me too. Thanks for the teal tip! (I most probably have enough barbie pinks to whip one up… LOL)

  2. Deniz says:

    it’s soo gorgeous, right up my alley =) I love it!!!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Glad you liked it! Somehow I feel better wearing something “purple” rather than “pink!” Makes me feel a little tougher and less girly! 😉

  3. Lucy says:

    Very pretty shade of lavender. I love color also. I guess that’s why I have so many polishes, lipsticks and eyeshadows. The bow is cute. Good for a coverup.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Lucy! I have a colleciton going on too, but I doubt I’ll live long enough to use ’em all up. But I just can’t seem to stop myself….at least I don’t have really expensive taste in makeup! 😉

  4. Brooke says:

    Really pretty, I like this color alot. That bow sticker is awesome.

Leave a Reply

