Pursuing Periwinkle

As you may know, one of my favorite colors is periwinkle- real periwinkle, not the fakey lavender or wimpy light blue ones that often pass for the real thing. There are a few shades of it in the nail polish world, but it is rather underrepresented. I’m not sure if it’s because it doesn’t look good on people, or if it’s just a hard color to get right, but I’m always on the lookout for a good periwinkle.

I thought I had it with this Fyrinnae pigment, Helena and Demitrius. (Apologies if I spelled that wrong.) It’s a cornflower/periwinkle blue pigment with a gold flash. Gorgeous. And lumpy as all get out.  I mixed the pigment with some clear polish and could not get the lumps out. I mixed the pigment with another brand of clear, still no luck. It’s lumpy. Dang.

What a shame! I tried two coats of Seche but…as you can see, still lumpy.

In fact, the only thing to do was cover it with glitter and a few stars. I added two coats of Pa Celestial Glitter and used a toothpick to arrange the stars on my nails. Glitter camoflauge for the win!

Too bad this was so lumpy. I do have a tiny mortar and pestle for grinding pigment, but I’m not sure I’m willing to go totally mad scientist just yet, but I do have a couple experiments in mind for this one…

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pursuing Periwinkle

  1. Annabelle says:

    I hate lumps. Made this amazing gold once with eyeshadow. It ended up all falling to the bottom of the bottle and not mixing. It wasn’t that lumpy, more bubbles really.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Lumps are annoying. Pigment will very often fall to the bottom of the bottle, whichi is why I usually only mix enough polish for one manicure. Getting the polish to stay mixed for a long time is definitely tricky!

  2. Rebecca says:

    Wow, I love that! Even with the lumps 😛
    I’m working up the courage to mix up some pretty glitter I have here… I’m almost certain it’s going to turn clean once it hits the polish though… *sigh*

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Just drop a little bit of polish in with the glitter on an artist’s pallette or piece of tinfoil to check first! That way you won’t waste your glitter or the polish.

  3. Rebecca says:

    oh! good idea!

  4. Lucy says:

    How did that ever make it as an eyeshadow? It’s a gorgeous shade. It sort of turned out like your pickle polish! Nice coverup and very pretty.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Lucy! The company suggests to “pat” it on, not rub. I guess the lumps would fall off from gravity? It actually looks pretty smooth in the jar, so I was surprised it was so gritty on. Either that, or “sandpaper eyes” are a new look that the company is trying to promote!

Leave a Reply

