Fixing a Sheer Polish With Pigment

I do most of my nail polish shopping online because I’m outside of the US and polish in Japan is outrageously expensive.  Most sites have little blobs to indicate the polish color.  Some depictions are better than others, but I always wind up with at least one polish that looks nothing like what it did online.  Sometimes I’m pleasantly surprised, but usually not. (I know, I should look up swatches before I buy, but sometimes I don’t do it in the heat of the buying frenzy!)

One of the polishes that I got recently was a bust. I thought it would be a nice, antiquey sort of purple from the swatch. Boo! It’s really sheer! The culprit is China Glaze Mr. and Mrs.  It is a nice color- but it’s really sheer. After 4 coats, I still couldn’t build up any color.

I have to say that I’m personally am not fond of sheers.  Very occasionally, they can be nice. But I still dont’ really understand purple sheers.  Pink, sure. It can look nice and enhance your nails. But purple sheer is going to make your nails look diseased. The bottle below is CG Mr. and Mrs. and the color on my nails is what I wanted  it to look like. Repeat: The color on my nails is not Mr. and Mrs.!

To get the color above,  I added Fyrinnae “Arcane Magic: Healer’s Touch” pigment, a sort of dusty purple, to Mr. and Mrs. This made the color a lot more opaque and workable. Finally- the color I wanted it to be! This is two coats.

I use a variety of pigments and will do a tutorial if anyone is interested. Mainly, I use crumbled up eyeshadow, MAC, Fyrinnae and sometimes mineral makeup. Fyrinnae is vegan, inexpensive and they have a very useful website where you can see the actual swatches, but it can be very gritty and clumpy. MAC is pricey but I’ve never had it clump. Of course, for the price of one MAC pigment, you could buy about 10 bottles of China Glaze, but if you already have the pigment it can be fun to experiment.

I actually made a variety of frankens using this (you can see a lot of my bottle is gone!) Sheers work very well with pigments and glitter.  Straight sheers don’t work well with other colors because they tend to thin the color out too much, plus the little bit of pigment in them sometimes doesn’t play nice with the colors you’re mixing.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Purples and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Fixing a Sheer Polish With Pigment

  1. Rebecca says:

    Nice job! That’s very pretty, I would love to see a tutorial!
    Happy New Year too!

  2. Claudia says:

    I love your franken!
    Thank is a great color!

  3. Kelsea says:

    Great advice, thanks!!

  4. Deniz says:

    Welcome back! Such a suitable name for the pigment you used =) Today I’m going to “heal” China Glaze Tantalize Me. It’s a sheer violet with a faint blue duochrome, makes my nails worse than dead, if such a thing exists. Think about MAC Varicose Violet, only worse. At least that one looks nice on black!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yikes.. Tantalize Me sounds unappealling! It is a prime candidate for frankening! I hate sheer violets- they never look good on anyone. The only worse shade is sheer yellow, because it looks like fungus. Hope you can make it into something you like!

  5. Lucy says:

    Beautiful shade of polish. Do you think many of the pigments work well in polishes? I have load of pigments from TheSheSpace. I’d like to know how to make some polishes.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Lucy! Most pigments will mix very well into nail polish. I’m going to get a tutorial up this week if you want more details. The thing about mixing pigment into nail polish is that they do sometimes seperate over time and get clumpy. That’s why I only mix one manicure’s worth at a time.

Leave a Reply

